Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near San Carlos, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica - list, stats and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 3.2 earthquake 48 km southeast of San José, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica -
Strongest since 2023Mag. 4.5 Provincia de Alajuela, 46 km northwest of San Jose, Costa Rica - Mar 26, 2023 -
Updated: Mar 2, 2024 04:49 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near San Carlos, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in or near San Carlos, find out which quakes are happening right now!

Number of quakes per year

.
There were no significant confirmed earthquakes in or near San Carlos in the past 24 hours.

Since 2023, San Carlos has had 75 quakes of magnitudes up to 4.5:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 22 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 44 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 5 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
in sec
Showing all recent or significant quakes since 2023, magnitude 0 or higher (75 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Feb 25, 10:26 am (GMT -6)
Feb 25, 16:26 GMT

3.2

23 km
48 km southeast of San José, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Tuesday, February 13, 2024 GMT (2 quakes)
Feb 13, 02:46 am (Costa Rica)
Feb 13, 08:46 GMT

2.6

97 km
42 km north of Alajuela, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica More
Feb 12, 11:02 pm (Costa Rica)
Feb 13, 05:02 GMT

2.6

123 km
Provincia de Alajuela, 47 km northeast of Canas, Costa Rica More
Saturday, February 3, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 2, 06:36 pm (Costa Rica)
Feb 3, 00:36 GMT

3.7

12 km
31 km northwest of Ciudad Quesada, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica More
Thursday, February 1, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 1, 09:13 am (Costa Rica)
Feb 1, 15:13 GMT

3.3

209 km
39 km southeast of San José, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica More
Monday, January 22, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 22, 04:10 am (Costa Rica)
Jan 22, 10:10 GMT

2.6

6 km
38 km northwest of Ciudad Quesada, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica More
Monday, January 15, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 15, 01:07 pm (Costa Rica)
Jan 15, 19:07 GMT

2.4

48 km
5.4 km northeast of Ciudad Quesada, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica More
Thursday, January 11, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 11, 03:11 am (Costa Rica)
Jan 11, 09:11 GMT

1.8

67 km
7.8 km north of Ciudad Quesada, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica More
Wednesday, January 10, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 10, 05:36 am (Costa Rica)
Jan 10, 11:36 GMT

3.0

9 km
17 km west of Ciudad Quesada, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica More
Thursday, January 4, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 4, 12:23 am (Costa Rica)
Jan 4, 06:23 GMT

3.0

76 km
31 km west of Ciudad Quesada, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica More
Tuesday, December 26, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 26, 2023 03:11 am (Costa Rica)
Dec 26, 2023 09:11 GMT

2.5

6 km
22 km west of Ciudad Quesada, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica More
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1 x 1012 joules (278 megawatt hours, equivalent to 240 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

San Carlos Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Heredia, Costa Rica (HDC/G network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Heredia, Costa Rica: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 364 quakes on average per year in or near San Carlos, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica:
  • Mag. 6 or higher: 0.04 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 25 years)
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 0.24 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 4.2 years)
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 1.82 quakes per year
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 19.8 quakes per year
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 35.8 quakes per year
San Carlos has a high level of seismic activity. San Carlos has had at least 2 quakes above magnitude 6 since 1970, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 25 to 30 years.

Number of recent quakes in or near San Carlos, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica, by magnitude

30 days
90 days
365 days
3 years
10 years
Table
Mag
 
Number of quakes (5 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
3 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (60%)
2+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (40%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (19 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
9 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (47.37%)
2+
9 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (47.37%)
below M2
1 quake
(5.26%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (65 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
4 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (6.15%)
3+
17 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (26.15%)
2+
39 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (60%)
below M2
5 quakes
(7.69%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (184 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
7 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (3.8%)
3+
71 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (38.59%)
2+
100 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (54.35%)
below M2
6 quakes
(3.26%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (365 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.55%)
4+
16 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (4.38%)
3+
183 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (50.14%)
2+
158 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (43.29%)
below M2
6 quakes
(1.64%)
Total number<M2M2+M3+M4+M5+M6+M7+
Past 7 days1 quake--1----
Past 30 days5 quakes-23----
Past 90 days19 quakes199----
Past 365 days65 quakes539174---
Past 3 years184 quakes6100717---
Past 10 years365 quakes6158183162--
Magnitude 1.0+, updated

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

San Carlos Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in or near San Carlos, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica?

San Carlos has a high level of seismic activity. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 364 quakes on average per year in or near San Carlos, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica. San Carlos has had at least 2 quakes above magnitude 6 since 1970, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 25 to 30 years.

When was the latest earthquake in San Carlos?

The last earthquake in San Carlos occurred 6 days ago and had a magnitude of 3.2:

A light magnitude 3.2 earthquake hit 48 km (30 mi) away from San José, Provincia de Alajuela,  Costa Rica, in the morning of Sunday, Feb 25, 2024 at 10.26 am local time (GMT -6). The quake had a very shallow depth of 23 km (14 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

How many quakes were there in San Carlos since 2023?

Since 2023, San Carlos has been shaken by 4 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 22 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 44 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There have been also 5 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

What was the strongest quake in San Carlos since 2023?

The strongest earthquake in San Carlos since 2023 had a magnitude of 4.5 and occurred 49 weeks ago:

Mag. 4.5 earthquake Provincia de Alajuela, 46 km northwest of San Jose, Costa Rica - Mar 26, 2023 -

A moderate magnitude 4.5 earthquake hit 46 km (28 mi) away from San Jose, Provincia de San José,  Costa Rica, in the morning of Sunday, Mar 26, 2023 at 8.24 am local time (America/Costa Rica GMT -6). The quake had a moderate depth of 93 km (58 mi) and was reported felt by some people near the epicenter.

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near San Carlos, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica

Strongest in 10 years

The largest quake that occurred in or near San Carlos, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica, during the past 10 years was a magnitude 5.0 earthquake that hit Provincia de Puntarenas,  Costa Rica, 4 years ago on Sunday, Nov 24, 2019, at 07:33 pm local time (America/Costa Rica GMT -6).

Strongest since 1900

Mag. 6.5 earthquake Provincia de Alajuela, 74 km east of Liberia, Costa Rica - Apr 14, 1973 -
51 years ago, Provincia de Alajuela,  Costa Rica, was hit by a magnitude 6.5 quake on Saturday, Apr 14, 1973, at 02:34 am local time (America/Costa Rica GMT -6). This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near San Carlos, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica, in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes in or near San Carlos, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Aug 7, 2023 20:03 GMT
Aug 7, 2023 02:03 pm (Costa Rica)
4.3

163 km
54 km east of San José, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica More
Apr 4, 2023 23:26 GMT
Apr 4, 2023 05:26 pm (Costa Rica)
4.4

503 km
55 km north of Ciudad Quesada, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica 2 reportsMore
Mar 26, 2023 14:24 GMT
Mar 26, 2023 08:24 am (Costa Rica)
4.5

93 km
Provincia de Alajuela, 46 km northwest of San Jose, Costa Rica 1 reportMore
Jul 21, 2021 21:16 GMT
Jul 21, 2021 03:16 pm (Costa Rica)
4.3

17 km
42 km east of San José, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica 70 reportsMore
Nov 25, 2019 01:33 GMT
Nov 24, 2019 07:33 pm (Costa Rica)
5.0

73 km
20 km north of Miramar, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica 113 reportsMore
Aug 6, 2019 21:14 GMT
Aug 6, 2019 03:14 pm (Costa Rica)
4.7

102 km
5.5 km southeast of Ciudad Quesada, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica 100 reportsMore
Dec 28, 2017 23:01 GMT
Dec 28, 2017 05:01 pm (Costa Rica)
4.9

142 km
Provincia de Alajuela, 25 km northeast of Tilaran, Costa Rica 1 reportMore
Nov 18, 2017 23:50 GMT
Nov 18, 2017 05:50 pm (Costa Rica)
4.5

102 km
20 km east of Tilaran, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica More
Apr 28, 2015 07:33 GMT
Apr 28, 2015 01:33 am (Costa Rica)
4.8

83 km
4.5 km northwest of Pocosol, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica 15 reportsMore
Mar 31, 2015 17:05 GMT
Mar 31, 2015 11:05 am (Costa Rica)
5.0

67 km
8 km west of Ciudad Quesada, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica 1 reportMore
Mar 1, 1991 17:30 GMT
Mar 1, 1991 11:30 am (Costa Rica)
6.2

197 km
54 km east of San José, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica More
Dec 16, 1973 07:20 GMT
Dec 16, 1973 01:20 am (Costa Rica)
5.1

33 km
Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica More
Apr 14, 1973 08:34 GMT
Apr 14, 1973 02:34 am (Costa Rica)
6.5

33 km
Provincia de Alajuela, 74 km east of Liberia, Costa Rica More

Map of largest quakes in or near San Carlos, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica

[smaller] [bigger]

Earthquakes in or near San Carlos, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica

Quakes in nearby regions

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings