Latest quakes in or near Hawaii Island, USA, in the past 24 hours on Thursday, August 11, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 11, 2022 17:02 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 9 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 7 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Hawaii had 1 quake of magnitude 3.0 and 9 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 7 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.8 | 10 Km E of Pāhala, Hawaii -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.0 | 2.2 mi S of Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Hawaii Island, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours:17 quakes | 9 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 7 days:131 quakes | 70 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:648 quakes | 350 quakes M2+ | 14 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:1,756 quakes | 978 quakes M2+ | 35 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:9,289 quakes | 5,187 quakes M2+ | 197 quakes M3+ | 11 quakes M4+ | 0 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (17 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, August 11, 2022 GMT (10 quakes)
Aug 11, 2022 6:03 am (GMT -10) (Aug 11, 2022 16:03 GMT)
1.8

31 km
10 Km E of Pāhala, Hawaii MoreMap
Aug 11, 2022 5:21 am (GMT -10) (Aug 11, 2022 15:21 GMT)
2.0

0.9 km
27 Km E of Honaunau-Napoopoo, Hawaii MoreMap
Aug 11, 2022 3:32 am (GMT -10) (Aug 11, 2022 13:32 GMT)
3.0

30 km
2.2 mi south of Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 11, 2022 3:02 am (GMT -10) (Aug 11, 2022 13:02 GMT)
2.3

36 km
1 Km ESE of Pāhala, Hawaii MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 9:26 pm (GMT -10) (Aug 11, 2022 07:26 GMT)
2.2

32 km
1 Km SSW of Pāhala, Hawaii MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 8:31 pm (GMT -10) (Aug 11, 2022 06:31 GMT)
2.4

31 km
27 mi southeast of Hawaii Island, Hawaii County, USA MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 7:39 pm (GMT -10) (Aug 11, 2022 05:39 GMT)
1.8

29 km
12 Km ESE of Pāhala, Hawaii MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 4:22 pm (GMT -10) (Aug 11, 2022 02:22 GMT)
1.9

32 km
11 Km SSE of Pāhala, Hawaii MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 2:57 pm (GMT -10) (Aug 11, 2022 00:57 GMT)
2.3

39 km
22 Km SE of Naalehu, Hawaii MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 2:30 pm (GMT -10) (Aug 11, 2022 00:30 GMT)
2.0

30 km
9 Km NE of Pāhala, Hawaii MoreMap
Wednesday, August 10, 2022 GMT (7 quakes)
Aug 10, 2022 12:56 pm (GMT -10) (Aug 10, 2022 22:56 GMT)
2.2

32 km
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 9:57 am (GMT -10) (Aug 10, 2022 19:57 GMT)
1.7

3.1 km
27 Km WNW of Volcano, Hawaii MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 9:44 am (GMT -10) (Aug 10, 2022 19:44 GMT)
1.8

31 km
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 9:26 am (GMT -10) (Aug 10, 2022 19:26 GMT)
2.0

32 km
2 Km SE of Pāhala, Hawaii MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 8:57 am (GMT -10) (Aug 10, 2022 18:57 GMT)
1.8

31 km
7 Km S of Pāhala, Hawaii MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 7:38 am (GMT -10) (Aug 10, 2022 17:38 GMT)
1.8

33 km
4 Km E of Pāhala, Hawaii MoreMap
Aug 10, 2022 7:29 am (GMT -10) (Aug 10, 2022 17:29 GMT)
2.7

35 km
North Pacific Ocean, 15 mi south of Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4 x 109 joules (1.1 megawatt hours, equivalent to 0.95 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Hawaii Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Hawaii?

The last earthquake in Hawaii occurred 59 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.8 earthquake - 10 Km E of Pāhala, Hawaii, on Thursday, Aug 11, 2022 at 6:03 am (GMT -10).

How many quakes were there in Hawaii today?

In the past 24 hours, Hawaii Island, USA had 17 quakes up to magnitude 3.0.

What was the strongest quake in Hawaii today?

The strongest earthquake in Hawaii today occurred 4 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.0 earthquake - 2.2 mi south of Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA, on Thursday, Aug 11, 2022 at 3:32 am (GMT -10).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings