Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or near New Guinea Island, Papua, Indonesia, past 30 days

Updated 9 May 2021 01:21 GMT -
During the past 30 days, New Guinea was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 10 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 56 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 39 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 8 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 6.1 quake Bismarck Sea, 195 km north of Madang, Papua New Guinea, 27 Apr 6:05 pm (GMT +10)
Biggest quake today: 4.6 quake Banda Sea, Indonesia, 8 May 4:47 pm (GMT +9)
Most recent quake: 3.7 quake Ceram Sea, 257 km east of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia, 8 May 2021 22:40 GMT
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 4.1 or higher (64 out of 116 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sat, 8 May 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
8 May 2021 22:40:44 GMT
3.7

10 km
167 km (104 mi)Ceram Sea, 257 km east of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
8 May 2021 18:59:33 GMT
3.5

37 km
489 km (304 mi)112 km southwest of Jayapura, Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
9 May 12:42 am (GMT +9) (8 May 2021 15:42:26 GMT)
4.3

148 km
499 km (310 mi)293 km southwest of Jayapura, Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
8 May 4:47 pm (GMT +9) (8 May 2021 07:47:05 GMT)
4.6

10 km
47 km (29 mi)Banda Sea, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Thu, 6 May 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
7 May 9:08 am (GMT +10) (6 May 2021 23:08:29 GMT)
5.0

62 km
142 km (88 mi)90 km northeast of Kiunga, North Fly, Western Province, Papua New Guinea
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
7 May 8:21 am (GMT +10) (6 May 2021 22:21:27 GMT)
4.9

35 km
71 km (44 mi)Solomon Sea, 106 km east of New Britain Island, Papua New Guinea
I FELT IT
MoreMap
7 May 2:42 am (GMT +9) (6 May 2021 17:42:38 GMT)
4.7

10 km
605 km (376 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 83 km southeast of Manokwari, West Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
7 May 2:06 am (GMT +9) (6 May 2021 17:06:25 GMT)
4.4

10 km
571 km (355 mi)135 km west of Jayapura, Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
6 May 11:49 am (GMT +9) (6 May 2021 02:49:04 GMT)
4.1

89 km
585 km (364 mi)272 km southwest of Jayapura, Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
6 May 11:41 am (GMT +9) (6 May 2021 02:41:24 GMT)
4.5

10 km
621 km (386 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 187 km northwest of Jayapura, Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Wed, 5 May 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
6 May 7:27 am (GMT +9) (5 May 2021 22:27:21 GMT)
4.3

10 km
516 km (321 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 69 km northwest of Abepura, Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
6 May 5:35 am (GMT +9) (5 May 2021 20:35:01 GMT)
4.6

10 km
190 km (118 mi)Ceram Sea, 281 km east of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
6 May 1:46 am (GMT +9) (5 May 2021 16:46:09 GMT)
4.1

146 km
57 km (35 mi)Banda Sea, 216 km west of Tual, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
5 May 8:58 pm (GMT +9) (5 May 2021 11:58:00 GMT)
4.2

10 km
555 km (345 mi)106 km south of Nabire, Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
5 May 3:07 pm (GMT +9) (5 May 2021 06:07:50 GMT)
4.2

236 km
158 km (98 mi)Banda Sea, 231 km southwest of Tual, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 4 May 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
5 May 4:20 am (GMT +9) (4 May 2021 19:20:48 GMT)
4.5

111 km
61 km (38 mi)Banda Sea, 277 km southwest of Tual, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
4 May 3:38 pm (GMT +9) (4 May 2021 06:38:59 GMT)
4.5

10 km
676 km (420 mi)51 km northeast of Nabire, Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
4 May 2021 2:23 pm (GMT +9) (4 May 2021 05:23:47 GMT)
4.7

10 km
684 km (425 mi)58 km northeast of Nabire, Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 3 May 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 May 7:59 am (GMT +9) (3 May 2021 22:59:24 GMT)
4.3

10 km
28 km (17 mi)Banda Sea, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sun, 2 May 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
3 May 8:24 am (GMT +9) (2 May 2021 23:24:41 GMT)
5.0

10 km
196 km (122 mi)Ceram Sea, 283 km east of Ambon City, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
3 May 5:26 am (GMT +10) (2 May 2021 19:26:03 GMT)
4.3

80 km
79 km (49 mi)58 km southwest of Madang, Papua New Guinea
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
3 May 12:02 am (GMT +9) (2 May 2021 15:02:03 GMT)
4.7

187 km
17 km (10.6 mi)Banda Sea, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
2 May 7:33 pm (GMT +10) (2 May 2021 09:33:53 GMT)
4.6

74 km
117 km (73 mi)57 km east of Lae, Morobe Province, Papua New Guinea
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Sat, 1 May 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
2 May 1:39 am (GMT +10) (1 May 2021 15:39:19 GMT)
4.7

35 km
66 km (41 mi)Bismarck Sea, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
1 May 10:40 am (GMT +10) (1 May 2021 00:40:11 GMT)
5.1

78 km
119 km (74 mi)81 km east of Lae, Morobe Province, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Fri, 30 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
30 Apr 3:45 pm (GMT +10) (30 Apr 2021 05:45:58 GMT)
4.2

153 km
62 km (39 mi)Bismarck Sea, 98 km east of Madang, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Thu, 29 Apr 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
30 Apr 7:54 am (GMT +9) (29 Apr 2021 22:54:13 GMT)
4.9

135 km
216 km (134 mi)Banda Sea, 173 km west of Tual, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
30 Apr 1:42 am (GMT +10) (29 Apr 2021 15:42:27 GMT)
4.8

10 km
64 km (40 mi)Bismarck Sea, 47 km east of Madang, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
29 Apr 10:50 pm (GMT +9) (29 Apr 2021 13:50:34 GMT)
4.6

10 km
602 km (374 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 85 km southeast of Manokwari, West Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
29 Apr 4:26 pm (GMT +9) (29 Apr 2021 07:26:35 GMT)
5.3

10 km
599 km (372 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 85 km southeast of Manokwari, West Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
Wed, 28 Apr 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
29 Apr 12:46 am (GMT +9) (28 Apr 2021 15:46:38 GMT)
4.4

14 km
682 km (424 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 68 km east of Manokwari, West Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
28 Apr 8:37 pm (GMT +9) (28 Apr 2021 11:37:34 GMT)
4.2

10 km
420 km (261 mi)Aru Sea, 205 km southwest of Nabire, Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
28 Apr 11:57 am (GMT +9) (28 Apr 2021 02:57:28 GMT)
4.8

46 km
196 km (122 mi)Banda Sea, 105 km northwest of Tual, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
Tue, 27 Apr 2021 (GMT) (8 earthquakes)
28 Apr 1:01 am (GMT +10) (27 Apr 2021 15:01:11 GMT)
4.6

57 km
66 km (41 mi)Bismarck Sea, 134 km north of Madang, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
27 Apr 9:04 pm (GMT +10) (27 Apr 2021 11:04:25 GMT)
5.5

10 km
86 km (53 mi)Bismarck Sea, 199 km north of Madang, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
27 Apr 8:40 pm (GMT +10) (27 Apr 2021 10:40:51 GMT)
5.2

10 km
75 km (47 mi)Bismarck Sea, 202 km north of Madang, Papua New Guinea 2 reportsMoreMap
27 Apr 7:28 pm (GMT +9) (27 Apr 2021 10:28:58 GMT)
4.5

10 km
587 km (365 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 83 km south of Manokwari, West Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
27 Apr 6:17 pm (GMT +9) (27 Apr 2021 09:17:21 GMT)
4.1

10 km
595 km (370 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 88 km south of Manokwari, West Papua, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
27 Apr 6:05 pm (GMT +10) (27 Apr 2021 08:05:32 GMT)
6.1

10 km
81 km (50 mi)Bismarck Sea, 195 km north of Madang, Papua New Guinea 1 reportMoreMap
27 Apr 6:03 pm (GMT +10) (27 Apr 2021 08:03:51 GMT)
5.0

27 km
103 km (64 mi)Bismarck Sea, 2 km north of Madang, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
27 Apr 12:12 pm (GMT +10) (27 Apr 2021 02:12:51 GMT)
5.6

10 km
80 km (50 mi)Bismarck Sea, 208 km north of Madang, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Sun, 25 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
26 Apr 12:18 am (GMT +9) (25 Apr 2021 15:18:26 GMT)
4.1

10 km
606 km (377 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 86 km southeast of Manokwari, West Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
25 Apr 2021 10:52 am (GMT +9) (25 Apr 2021 01:52:44 GMT)
4.9

10 km
602 km (374 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 97 km southeast of Manokwari, West Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
Sat, 24 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
25 Apr 7:24 am (GMT +10) (24 Apr 2021 21:24:08 GMT)
4.8

83 km
167 km (104 mi)94 km northeast of Kiunga, North Fly, Western Province, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Thu, 22 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
23 Apr 8:00 am (GMT +10) (22 Apr 2021 22:00:00 GMT)
4.8

10 km
367 km (228 mi)44 km south of Vanimo, West Sepik Province, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
23 Apr 2:41 am (GMT +9) (22 Apr 2021 17:41:12 GMT)
4.5

165 km
53 km (33 mi)Banda Sea, Indonesia MoreMap
Wed, 21 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
21 Apr 2:47 pm (GMT +10) (21 Apr 2021 04:47:31 GMT)
5.0

10 km
92 km (57 mi)45 km south of Mendi, Southern Highlands Province, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Tue, 20 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
21 Apr 1:26 am (GMT +9) (20 Apr 2021 16:26:21 GMT)
4.8

58 km
379 km (235 mi)Papua, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
20 Apr 10:35 am (GMT +9) (20 Apr 2021 01:35:33 GMT)
4.8

139 km
45 km (28 mi)Banda Sea, Indonesia MoreMap
Mon, 19 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Apr 9:35 pm (GMT +10) (19 Apr 2021 11:35:57 GMT)
4.9

22 km
178 km (111 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 138 km north of Lorengau, Papua New Guinea 1 reportMoreMap
Sun, 18 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
18 Apr 2:00 pm (GMT +10) (18 Apr 2021 04:00:36 GMT)
5.2

97 km
216 km (134 mi)99 km west of Ambunti, East Sepik Province, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
Sat, 17 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
18 Apr 8:28 am (GMT +9) (17 Apr 2021 23:28:13 GMT)
4.5

85 km
546 km (339 mi)145 km west of Jayapura, Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
17 Apr 9:33 pm (GMT +9) (17 Apr 2021 12:33:17 GMT)
4.6

11 km
403 km (250 mi)Aru Sea, 144 km northeast of Tual, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
Thu, 15 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
16 Apr 7:43 am (GMT +9) (15 Apr 2021 22:43:31 GMT)
4.8

16 km
61 km (38 mi)Banda Sea, 246 km west of Tual, Maluku, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
Wed, 14 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
14 Apr 7:35 pm (GMT +9) (14 Apr 2021 10:35:24 GMT)
4.5

11 km
33 km (21 mi)Banda Sea, Indonesia MoreMap
Tue, 13 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
14 Apr 1:30 am (GMT +9) (13 Apr 2021 16:30:12 GMT)
4.4

220 km
46 km (29 mi)Banda Sea, Indonesia MoreMap
13 Apr 9:54 pm (GMT +9) (13 Apr 2021 12:54:15 GMT)
4.1

37 km
777 km (483 mi)150 km east of Nabire, Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
Mon, 12 Apr 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
13 Apr 6:34 am (GMT +9) (12 Apr 2021 21:34:50 GMT)
4.4

22 km
152 km (94 mi)Banda Sea, 283 km southwest of Tual, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
13 Apr 5:54 am (GMT +9) (12 Apr 2021 20:54:04 GMT)
4.1

147 km
149 km (93 mi)Banda Sea, 273 km west of Tual, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
12 Apr 10:57 pm (GMT +9) (12 Apr 2021 13:57:50 GMT)
4.6

24 km
403 km (250 mi)252 km southwest of Jayapura, Papua, Indonesia MoreMap
Sun, 11 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
12 Apr 6:08 am (GMT +9) (11 Apr 2021 21:08:19 GMT)
4.1

228 km
30 km (19 mi)Banda Sea, Indonesia MoreMap
11 Apr 4:55 pm (GMT +9) (11 Apr 2021 07:55:27 GMT)
4.3

133 km
55 km (34 mi)Banda Sea, 259 km west of Tual, Maluku, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
Sat, 10 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
10 Apr 10:27 pm (GMT +10) (10 Apr 2021 12:27:02 GMT)
4.6

118 km
56 km (35 mi)Bismarck Sea, 162 km north of Madang, Papua New Guinea MoreMap
10 Apr 9:38 pm (GMT +10) (10 Apr 2021 11:38:33 GMT)
6.1

10 km
97 km (60 mi)Bismarck Sea, 196 km north of Madang, Papua New Guinea 3 reportsMoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.5 x 1014 joules (70.8 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 60883 tons of TNT or 3.8 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Fran├žais | Deutsch
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel