Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or near North Island, New Zealand, past 30 days

Updated 15 Apr 2021 03:14 GMT -
During the past 30 days, North Island was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 12 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 81 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 544 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 775 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 5.9 quake South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand, 20 Mar 2021 6:52 am (GMT +12)
Biggest quake today: 3.6 quake South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand, 14 April 2021 15:56 GMT
Most recent quake: 2.0 quake 14 km southwest of Takaka, Tasman District, New Zealand, 15 April 2021 02:21 GMT
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 3.2 or higher (74 out of 1414 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thu, 15 Apr 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
15 Apr 2021 02:21:09 GMT
2.0

5 km
(216 km)14 km southwest of Takaka, Tasman District, New Zealand MoreMap
15 Apr 2021 01:28:51 GMT
2.4

85 km
(91 km)Tasman Sea, 43 km west of Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
15 Apr 2021 01:11:43 GMT
2.0

24 km
(148 km)33 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
15 Apr 2021 01:06:35 GMT
2.1

12 km
(89 km)Rangitikei District, 12 km southeast of Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
15 Apr 2021 00:23:04 GMT
2.0

5 km
White Island (11 km)South Pacific Ocean, 39 km north of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 14 Apr 2021 (GMT) (8 earthquakes)
14 Apr 2021 23:00:28 GMT
2.5

201 km
(63 km)Ruapehu District, Manawatu-Wanganui, 80 km east of New Plymouth, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Apr 2021 22:15:26 GMT
2.1

12 km
(147 km)Tasman Sea, 85 km north of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Apr 2021 21:24:02 GMT
2.7

12 km
(135 km)13 km west of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Apr 2021 20:15:53 GMT
2.1

13 km
(133 km)15 km west of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Apr 2021 15:56:15 GMT
3.6

286 km
(95 km)South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
14 Apr 2021 13:56:26 GMT
3.2

190 km
(253 km)Buller District, West Coast, 71 km west of Nelson, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
14 Apr 2021 11:02:10 GMT
3.3

44 km
(109 km)14 km southwest of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
14 Apr 2021 10:42:50 GMT
3.6

240 km
Healy (14 km) - New ZealandSouth Pacific Ocean, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 13 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
13 Apr 2021 11:31:32 GMT
3.3

1 km
(35 km)South Pacific Ocean, 180 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
13 Apr 2:20 pm (GMT +12) (13 Apr 2021 02:20:10 GMT)
3.9

237 km
(54 km)South Pacific Ocean, 92 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sun, 11 Apr 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
11 Apr 2021 16:21:37 GMT
3.2

18 km
(159 km)73 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
12 Apr 4:06 am (GMT +12) (11 Apr 2021 16:06:13 GMT)
3.7

59 km
(65 km)20 km northeast of Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
11 Apr 2021 14:40:41 GMT
3.3

10.9 km
(56 km)South Pacific Ocean, 146 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
11 Apr 2021 09:41:48 GMT
3.4

20 km
(178 km)23 km northeast of Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Sat, 10 Apr 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
11 Apr 11:33 am (GMT +12) (10 Apr 2021 23:33:15 GMT)
3.8

266 km
(51 km)South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
10 Apr 2021 17:07:21 GMT
3.2

12 km
(243 km)Tasman Sea, 29 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
10 Apr 10:58 pm (GMT +12) (10 Apr 2021 10:58:29 GMT)
4.1

12 km
(243 km)Tasman Sea, 28 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 8 reports
MoreMap
10 Apr 10:46 pm (GMT +12) (10 Apr 2021 10:46:37 GMT)
3.6

12 km
(243 km)Tasman Sea, 29 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 4 reports
MoreMap
Fri, 9 Apr 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
9 Apr 11:21 pm (GMT +12) (9 Apr 2021 11:21:29 GMT)
3.5

5 km
(124 km)Tasman Sea, 204 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
9 Apr 11:14 pm (GMT +12) (9 Apr 2021 11:14:15 GMT)
3.7

37 km
(65 km)Manawatu District, 70 km northeast of Palmerston North, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
9 Apr 2021 9:59 pm (GMT +12) (9 Apr 2021 09:59:44 GMT)
3.3

142 km
Taupo (24 km) - New Zealand28 km west of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
9 Apr 2021 4:55 pm (GMT +12) (9 Apr 2021 04:55:50 GMT)
4.2

91 km
(61 km)South Taranaki District, 50 km north of Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
Thu, 8 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Apr 2021 12:04 am (GMT +12) (8 Apr 2021 12:04:51 GMT)
?

n/a
Auckland Field (9 km) - North Island, New Zealand1.3 km northwest of Manukau, Auckland, New Zealand (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Wed, 7 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
8 Apr 2021 5:37 am (GMT +12) (7 Apr 2021 17:37:56 GMT)
3.3

5 km
(33 km)South Pacific Ocean, 32 km northwest of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand 8 reportsMoreMap
8 Apr 2021 5:14 am (GMT +12) (7 Apr 2021 17:14:28 GMT)
3.8

224 km
Healy (8 km) - New ZealandSouth Pacific Ocean, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 6 Apr 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
6 Apr 2021 11:49 pm (GMT +12) (6 Apr 2021 11:49:41 GMT)
3.3

165 km
Rumble II West (26 km) - New ZealandSouth Pacific Ocean, New Zealand MoreMap
6 Apr 2021 8:50 pm (GMT +12) (6 Apr 2021 08:50:22 GMT)
3.3

5 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (19 km) - New ZealandWhakatane District, 32 km northeast of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand 33 reportsMoreMap
6 Apr 2021 12:36 pm (GMT +12) (6 Apr 2021 00:36:30 GMT)
3.4

5 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (19 km) - New Zealand32 km northeast of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand 31 reportsMoreMap
Mon, 5 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
6 Apr 2021 11:42 am (GMT +12) (5 Apr 2021 23:42:48 GMT)
3.9

173 km
(61 km)Ruapehu District, Manawatu-Wanganui, 76 km east of New Plymouth, New Zealand MoreMap
6 Apr 2021 12:50 am (GMT +12) (5 Apr 2021 12:50:45 GMT)
3.3

12 km
(120 km)South Pacific Ocean, 198 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 4 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
5 Apr 2021 6:58 am (GMT +12) (4 Apr 2021 18:58:04 GMT)
3.9

23 km
(208 km)23 km southeast of Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
4 Apr 2021 4:15 pm (GMT +12) (4 Apr 2021 04:15:18 GMT)
3.3

148 km
(134 km)Tasman Sea, 161 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 2 Apr 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
3 Apr 2021 4:27 am (GMT +12) (2 Apr 2021 16:27:40 GMT)
4.0

33 km
Healy (52 km) - New ZealandSouth Pacific Ocean, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
3 Apr 2021 4:54 am (GMT +13) (2 Apr 2021 15:54:29 GMT)
3.8

82 km
(95 km)Central Hawke's Bay District, 49 km southwest of Napier City, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
3 Apr 2021 3:50 am (GMT +13) (2 Apr 2021 14:50:04 GMT)
3.5

20 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (121 km) - New Zealand23 km west of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
2 Apr 2021 1:51 pm (GMT +13) (2 Apr 2021 00:51:11 GMT)
3.3

47 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (57 km) - New ZealandOpotiki District, 17 km southeast of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 1 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
2 Apr 2021 11:12 am (GMT +13) (1 Apr 2021 22:12:05 GMT)
3.7

30 km
White Island (96 km)1 km north of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
2 Apr 2021 9:16 am (GMT +12) (1 Apr 2021 21:16:42 GMT)
4.0

33 km
Healy (83 km) - New ZealandSouth Pacific Ocean, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 31 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
1 Apr 2021 8:17 am (GMT +12) (31 Mar 2021 20:17:18 GMT)
3.6

12 km
(120 km)South Pacific Ocean, 208 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
1 Apr 2021 6:57 am (GMT +12) (31 Mar 2021 18:57:44 GMT)
4.4

166 km
Brothers (21 km) - New ZealandSouth Pacific Ocean, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Tue, 30 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
31 Mar 2021 8:33 am (GMT +12) (30 Mar 2021 20:33:11 GMT)
3.4

51 km
(133 km)South Pacific Ocean, 190 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
31 Mar 2021 2:06 am (GMT +12) (30 Mar 2021 14:06:44 GMT)
3.2

184 km
Rumble V (13 km) - New ZealandSouth Pacific Ocean, 259 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
30 Mar 2021 8:35 pm (GMT +12) (30 Mar 2021 08:35:05 GMT)
3.6

196 km
Rumble III (26 km) - New ZealandSouth Pacific Ocean, 280 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 29 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
29 Mar 2021 7:01 pm (GMT +12) (29 Mar 2021 07:01:13 GMT)
3.5

12 km
(121 km)South Pacific Ocean, 188 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
29 Mar 2021 5:03 pm (GMT +13) (29 Mar 2021 04:03:32 GMT)
3.3

43 km
White Island (58 km)Opotiki District, 24 km southeast of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 27 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Mar 2021 1:28 am (GMT +12) (27 Mar 2021 13:28:58 GMT)
4.4

12 km
(200 km)South Pacific Ocean, 170 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 26 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
27 Mar 2021 9:00 am (GMT +13) (26 Mar 2021 20:00:31 GMT)
3.6

12 km
(76 km)Waitomo District, Waikato, 58 km northeast of New Plymouth, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
26 Mar 2021 1:35 pm (GMT +13) (26 Mar 2021 00:35:16 GMT)
3.8

271 km
(34 km)Western Bay of Plenty District, 23 km southeast of Tauranga, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 25 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
26 Mar 2021 4:26 am (GMT +13) (25 Mar 2021 15:26:27 GMT)
4.1

114 km
Taupo (21 km) - New Zealand15 km west of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
25 Mar 2021 2:57 pm (GMT +12) (25 Mar 2021 02:57:51 GMT)
3.5

233 km
Clark (12 km) - New ZealandSouth Pacific Ocean, 202 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 24 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
24 Mar 2021 11:59 pm (GMT +13) (24 Mar 2021 10:59:31 GMT)
3.6

52 km
(182 km)Tasman Sea, 78 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
24 Mar 2021 8:59 pm (GMT +12) (24 Mar 2021 08:59:58 GMT)
3.3

129 km
Clark (32 km) - New ZealandSouth Pacific Ocean, 186 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand 2 reportsMoreMap
Tue, 23 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
23 Mar 2021 1:14 pm (GMT +13) (23 Mar 2021 00:14:27 GMT)
4.0

9.7 km
(299 km)Kaikoura District, Canterbury, 52 km south of Blenheim, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Mon, 22 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
23 Mar 2021 7:15 am (GMT +13) (22 Mar 2021 18:15:31 GMT)
5.3

133 km
Okataina (Tarawera) (30 km) - New ZealandWhakatane District, 53 km southeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand 12 reportsMoreMap
23 Mar 2021 2:28 am (GMT +12) (22 Mar 2021 14:28:09 GMT)
4.2

5 km
Rumble III (54 km) - New ZealandSouth Pacific Ocean, 299 km northeast of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Sun, 21 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
22 Mar 2021 8:00 am (GMT +13) (21 Mar 2021 19:00:52 GMT)
3.3

78 km
(112 km)Tasman Sea, 85 km southwest of Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
22 Mar 2021 12:52 am (GMT +13) (21 Mar 2021 11:52:42 GMT)
3.3

56 km
(302 km)Tasman District, 75 km southwest of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 20 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
21 Mar 2021 11:44 am (GMT +13) (20 Mar 2021 22:44:47 GMT)
3.4

32 km
(154 km)South Pacific Ocean, 30 km south of Gisborne, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
20 Mar 2021 3:26 pm (GMT +13) (20 Mar 2021 02:26:42 GMT)
3.5

79 km
White Island (43 km)South Pacific Ocean, 36 km east of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Fri, 19 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
20 Mar 2021 10:39 am (GMT +12) (19 Mar 2021 22:39:45 GMT)
4.5

166 km
Clark (41 km) - New ZealandSouth Pacific Ocean, 162 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
20 Mar 2021 6:52 am (GMT +12) (19 Mar 2021 18:52:43 GMT)
5.9

162 km
Rumble III (28 km) - New ZealandSouth Pacific Ocean, New Zealand 6 reportsMoreMap
19 Mar 2021 9:17 pm (GMT +12) (19 Mar 2021 09:17:16 GMT)
3.6

295 km
Brothers (77 km) - New ZealandSouth Pacific Ocean, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 18 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
19 Mar 2021 11:52 am (GMT +13) (18 Mar 2021 22:52:24 GMT)
4.5

188 km
(133 km)Tasman Sea, 161 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
19 Mar 2021 12:51 am (GMT +12) (18 Mar 2021 12:51:31 GMT)
3.4

12 km
White Island (210 km)South Pacific Ocean, 163 km northeast of Gisborne, New Zealand MoreMap
18 Mar 2021 5:32 pm (GMT +12) (18 Mar 2021 05:32:50 GMT)
3.8

7 km
Rumble II West (75 km) - New ZealandSouth Pacific Ocean, 286 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 17 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
18 Mar 2021 10:06 am (GMT +13) (17 Mar 2021 21:06:05 GMT)
3.7

57 km
(135 km)Tasman Sea, 95 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
18 Mar 2021 4:55 am (GMT +12) (17 Mar 2021 16:55:45 GMT)
3.8

232 km
Healy (19 km) - New ZealandSouth Pacific Ocean, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 16 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
17 Mar 2021 6:05 am (GMT +13) (16 Mar 2021 17:05:53 GMT)
3.2

111 km
(87 km)Tasman Sea, 88 km west of Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
16 Mar 2021 8:46 pm (GMT +12) (16 Mar 2021 08:46:53 GMT)
4.0

210 km
Rumble IV (27 km) - New ZealandSouth Pacific Ocean, 271 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.3 x 1013 joules (14.7 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 12649 tons of TNT or 0.8 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Fran├žais | Deutsch
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel