Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or near Departamento de Leon, Nicaragua, past 30 days

Updated 1 Mar 2021 07:46 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Departamento de Leon was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.2, 8 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 25 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 49 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 13 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 5.2 quake Departamento de Jinotega, 54 km north of Matagalpa, Nicaragua, 7 Feb 2021 12:02 pm (GMT -6)
Biggest quake today: 2.8 quake North Pacific Ocean, 90 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua, 28 Feb 2021 10:34 pm (GMT -6)
Most recent quake: 2.5 quake North Pacific Ocean, 74 km southwest of San Rafael del Sur, Nicaragua, 28 Feb 2021 10:55 pm (GMT -6)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 2.5 or higher (70 out of 96 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
28 Feb 2021 10:55 pm (GMT -6) (1 Mar 2021 04:55:38 GMT)
2.5

28 km
(100 km)North Pacific Ocean, 74 km southwest of San Rafael del Sur, Nicaragua MoreMap
28 Feb 2021 10:34 pm (GMT -6) (1 Mar 2021 04:34:42 GMT)
2.8

24 km
(94 km)North Pacific Ocean, 90 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
28 Feb 2021 7:57 pm (GMT -6) (1 Mar 2021 01:57:06 GMT)
2.5

119 km
(36 km)North Pacific Ocean, 26 km south of Леон, Departamento de Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Sat, 27 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
27 Feb 2021 12:44 am (GMT -6) (27 Feb 2021 06:44:28 GMT)
2.5

35 km
(68 km)North Pacific Ocean, 77 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 Feb 2021 5:13 pm (GMT -6) (26 Feb 2021 23:13:21 GMT)
3.4

10 km
Zapatera (6 km)28 km southeast of Granada, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Thu, 25 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
25 Feb 2021 9:21 am (GMT -6) (25 Feb 2021 15:21:34 GMT)
3.0

8 km
(49 km)22 km southeast of Choluteca, Honduras
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
24 Feb 2021 4:46 am (GMT -6) (24 Feb 2021 10:46:37 GMT)
2.7

147 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (20 km)26 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
24 de febrero del 2021 4:46 am (24 Feb 2021 10:46:00 GMT)
4.0

112 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (26 km)33 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 7:02 pm (GMT -6) (24 Feb 2021 01:02:03 GMT)
2.9

22 km
(104 km)North Pacific Ocean, 93 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 6:17 pm (GMT -6) (24 Feb 2021 00:17:08 GMT)
2.7

29 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (62 km)North Pacific Ocean, 68 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (8 earthquakes)
23 Feb 2021 3:36 pm (GMT -6) (23 Feb 2021 21:36:50 GMT)
2.8

4 km
San Cristobal (7 km)22 km northeast of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 11:12 am (GMT -6) (23 Feb 2021 17:12:59 GMT)
2.9

3 km
San Cristobal (7 km)23 km northeast of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 8:11 am (GMT -6) (23 Feb 2021 14:11:41 GMT)
2.8

1 km
(70 km)26 km northeast of Choluteca, Honduras
I FELT IT
MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 6:44 am (GMT -6) (23 Feb 2021 12:44:54 GMT)
2.6

10 km
San Cristobal (55 km)North Pacific Ocean, 40 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 6:44 am (GMT -6) (23 Feb 2021 12:44:50 GMT)
2.6

18 km
(95 km)North Pacific Ocean, 81 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 4:54 am (GMT -6) (23 Feb 2021 10:54:23 GMT)
2.6

57 km
(70 km)North Pacific Ocean, 62 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 4:54 am (GMT -6) (23 Feb 2021 10:54:11 GMT)
2.9

14 km
(156 km)North Pacific Ocean, 151 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 10:24 pm (GMT -6) (23 Feb 2021 04:24:11 GMT)
2.8

47 km
San Cristobal (56 km)North Pacific Ocean, 42 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (8 earthquakes)
22 Feb 2021 4:27 pm (GMT -6) (22 Feb 2021 22:27:42 GMT)
2.5

10 km
San Cristobal (39 km)Choluteca, 42 km north of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 4:27 pm (GMT -6) (22 Feb 2021 22:27:39 GMT)
2.6

7 km
San Cristobal (57 km)North Pacific Ocean, 41 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 4:27 pm (GMT -6) (22 Feb 2021 22:27:34 GMT)
2.7

21 km
(89 km)North Pacific Ocean, 79 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 3:27 pm (GMT -6) (22 Feb 2021 21:27:01 GMT)
4.8

35 km
(105 km)North Pacific Ocean, 99 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 3:05 pm (GMT -6) (22 Feb 2021 21:05:01 GMT)
4.6

35 km
(106 km)North Pacific Ocean, 91 km southwest of Corinto, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 3:05 pm (GMT -6) (22 Feb 2021 21:05:00 GMT)
3.8

36 km
(114 km)North Pacific Ocean, 114 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 11:57 am (GMT -6) (22 Feb 2021 17:57:16 GMT)
3.1

34 km
(75 km)North Pacific Ocean, 79 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 2:45 am (GMT -6) (22 Feb 2021 08:45:29 GMT)
2.8

23 km
San Cristobal (131 km)North Pacific Ocean, 93 km southwest of Corinto, Nicaragua MoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
21 Feb 2021 10:21 am (GMT -6) (21 Feb 2021 16:21:56 GMT)
2.9

41 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (53 km)North Pacific Ocean, 66 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Feb 2021 8:04 pm (GMT -6) (20 Feb 2021 02:04:18 GMT)
2.8

10 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (102 km)North Pacific Ocean, 1 km south of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
18 Feb 2021 1:16 am (GMT -6) (18 Feb 2021 07:16:26 GMT)
2.6

39 km
(70 km)North Pacific Ocean, 54 km southwest of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 9:16 pm (GMT -6) (18 Feb 2021 03:16:09 GMT)
2.8

99 km
(35 km)North Pacific Ocean, 59 km south of San Miguel, El Salvador MoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
17 Feb 2021 5:45 am (GMT -6) (17 Feb 2021 11:45:44 GMT)
3.1

34 km
(59 km)North Pacific Ocean, 74 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 12:26 am (GMT -6) (17 Feb 2021 06:26:42 GMT)
3.1

37 km
San Cristobal (74 km)North Pacific Ocean, 59 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
16 Feb 2021 5:57 am (GMT -6) (16 Feb 2021 11:57:49 GMT)
3.5

22 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (102 km)North Pacific Ocean, 97 km south of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 10:45 pm (GMT -6) (16 Feb 2021 04:45:10 GMT)
2.5

25 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (106 km)North Pacific Ocean, 96 km south of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
15 Feb 2021 12:44 pm (GMT -6) (15 Feb 2021 18:44:29 GMT)
3.9

36 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (80 km)North Pacific Ocean, 48 km southwest of San Rafael del Sur, Nicaragua MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 12:24 pm (GMT -6) (15 Feb 2021 18:24:17 GMT)
3.1

26 km
(73 km)North Pacific Ocean, 97 km west of El Viejo, Nicaragua MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 9:20 pm (GMT -6) (15 Feb 2021 03:20:45 GMT)
3.2

27 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (101 km)North Pacific Ocean, 99 km south of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 4:34 pm (GMT -6) (14 Feb 2021 22:34:07 GMT)
3.3

31 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (105 km)North Pacific Ocean, 98 km south of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 3:15 pm (GMT -6) (14 Feb 2021 21:15:55 GMT)
3.2

39 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (97 km)North Pacific Ocean, 88 km south of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
13 Feb 2021 5:21 am (GMT -6) (13 Feb 2021 11:21:13 GMT)
2.6

87 km
Isla Zacate (28 km) - HondurasDepartamento de Valle, 78 km southwest of Tegucigalpa, Honduras MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 8:18 pm (GMT -6) (13 Feb 2021 02:18:39 GMT)
2.9

35 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (60 km)North Pacific Ocean, 67 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 8:18 pm (GMT -6) (13 Feb 2021 02:18:29 GMT)
3.6

10 km
(75 km)49 km east of Matagalpa, Nicaragua MoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
12 Feb 2021 4:57 pm (GMT -6) (12 Feb 2021 22:57:39 GMT)
2.6

10 km
Zapatera (32 km)36 km southwest of Juigalpa, Departamento de Chontales, Nicaragua MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 11:40 am (GMT -6) (12 Feb 2021 17:40:00 GMT)
2.8

28 km
(91 km)North Pacific Ocean, 88 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 11:41 pm (GMT -6) (12 Feb 2021 05:41:33 GMT)
3.6

65 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (45 km)North Pacific Ocean, 52 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 6:23 pm (GMT -6) (12 Feb 2021 00:23:56 GMT)
2.7

119 km
(40 km)North Pacific Ocean, 24 km southwest of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
11 Feb 2021 4:28 pm (GMT -6) (11 Feb 2021 22:28:06 GMT)
3.1

21 km
(117 km)North Pacific Ocean, 106 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 4:15 am (GMT -6) (11 Feb 2021 10:15:58 GMT)
3.7

37 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (106 km)North Pacific Ocean, 97 km south of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 8:40 pm (GMT -6) (11 Feb 2021 02:40:48 GMT)
4.8

23 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (95 km)North Pacific Ocean, 86 km south of Leon, Nicaragua 5 reportsMoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
10 Feb 2021 4:04 pm (GMT -6) (10 Feb 2021 22:04:51 GMT)
4.0

144 km
Mombacho (16 km)Granada, 59 km south of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 1:26 pm (GMT -6) (10 Feb 2021 19:26:02 GMT)
3.6

25 km
San Cristobal (92 km)North Pacific Ocean, 79 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 7:01 pm (GMT -6) (10 Feb 2021 01:01:14 GMT)
2.7

32 km
(69 km)North Pacific Ocean, 94 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
9 Feb 2021 4:36 pm (GMT -6) (9 Feb 2021 22:36:56 GMT)
3.1

32 km
(68 km)North Pacific Ocean, 99 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 12:34 am (GMT -6) (9 Feb 2021 06:34:09 GMT)
2.7

34 km
(78 km)North Pacific Ocean, 61 km southwest of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Feb 2021 11:54 pm (GMT -6) (8 Feb 2021 05:54:23 GMT)
2.9

124 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (33 km)40 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
7 Feb 2021 12:02 pm (GMT -6) (7 Feb 2021 18:02:59 GMT)
4.3

91 km
(37 km)North Pacific Ocean, 30 km south of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 12:02 pm (GMT -6) (7 Feb 2021 18:02:51 GMT)
5.2

10 km
(68 km)Departamento de Jinotega, 54 km north of Matagalpa, Nicaragua 1 reportMoreMap
7 Feb 2021 3:55 am (GMT -6) (7 Feb 2021 09:55:47 GMT)
2.6

35 km
San Cristobal (68 km)North Pacific Ocean, 53 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 1:34 am (GMT -6) (7 Feb 2021 07:34:11 GMT)
2.5

41 km
(55 km)North Pacific Ocean, 70 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Sat, 6 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
6 Feb 2021 4:07 pm (GMT -6) (6 Feb 2021 22:07:42 GMT)
3.1

126 km
(41 km)39 km southeast of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 5:44 am (GMT -6) (6 Feb 2021 11:44:27 GMT)
3.4

18 km
(120 km)North Pacific Ocean, 123 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Fri, 5 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
5 Feb 2021 6:29 am (GMT -6) (5 Feb 2021 12:29:35 GMT)
4.7

130 km
Cerro Negro (26 km)15 km south of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Thu, 4 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
4 Feb 2021 5:40 pm (GMT -6) (4 Feb 2021 23:40:26 GMT)
2.5

6 km
Cerro el Ciguatepe (16 km)25 km northwest of Tipitapa, Departamento de Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
4 Feb 2021 12:37 am (GMT -6) (4 Feb 2021 06:37:16 GMT)
3.5

19 km
(75 km)North Pacific Ocean, 93 km west of El Viejo, Nicaragua MoreMap
3 Feb 2021 8:49 pm (GMT -6) (4 Feb 2021 02:49:21 GMT)
2.8

19 km
(95 km)North Pacific Ocean, 89 km southwest of El Viejo, Nicaragua MoreMap
Wed, 3 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2 Feb 2021 6:30 pm (GMT -6) (3 Feb 2021 00:30:13 GMT)
4.0

66 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (62 km)North Pacific Ocean, 54 km south of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Tue, 2 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
2 Feb 2021 11:50 am (GMT -6) (2 Feb 2021 17:50:08 GMT)
3.6

3 km
(38 km)Departamento de Madriz, 14 km southwest of Somoto, Madriz, Nicaragua MoreMap
1 Feb 2021 7:48 pm (GMT -6) (2 Feb 2021 01:48:07 GMT)
3.6

33 km
(55 km)North Pacific Ocean, 65 km west of El Viejo, Nicaragua 1 reportMoreMap
Sun, 31 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
31 Jan 2021 12:55 pm (GMT -6) (31 Jan 2021 18:55:28 GMT)
3.1

38 km
Cerro Negro (87 km)North Pacific Ocean, 82 km west of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
Sat, 30 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2021-01-30 08:05:35 (30 Jan 2021 14:05:35 GMT)
3.2

37 km
(64 km)North Pacific Ocean, 81 km west of El Viejo, Nicaragua MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.8 x 1012 joules (2.18 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1875 tons of TNT or 0.1 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.