Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or near Forsyth Island, New Zealand, past 30 days

Updated 2 Mar 2021 02:44 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Forsyth Island was shaken by 5 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 51 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 61 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.5 quake Marlborough District, 21 km south of Nelson, New Zealand, 21 Feb 2021 11:21 pm (GMT +13)
Biggest quake today: 3.2 quake Tasman Sea, 73 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand, 2 Mar 2021 1:11 pm (GMT +13)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 1.9 or higher (69 out of 117 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tue, 2 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2 Mar 2021 1:11 pm (GMT +13) (2 Mar 2021 00:11:28 GMT)
3.2

62 km
(160 km)Tasman Sea, 73 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
2 Mar 2021 12:05 pm (GMT +13) (1 Mar 2021 23:05:42 GMT)
2.8

38 km
(238 km)30 km west of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 2:22 am (GMT +13) (1 Mar 2021 13:22:51 GMT)
2.7

3.4 km
(139 km)Tasman Sea, 91 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sat, 27 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
28 Feb 2021 10:58 am (GMT +13) (27 Feb 2021 21:58:53 GMT)
3.0

77 km
(117 km)Tasman Sea, 116 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
28 Feb 2021 9:04 am (GMT +13) (27 Feb 2021 20:04:57 GMT)
1.9

21 km
(212 km)New Zealand MoreMap
28 Feb 2021 7:29 am (GMT +13) (27 Feb 2021 18:29:39 GMT)
2.4

26 km
(206 km)Tasman Sea, 32 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
27 Feb 2021 9:14 pm (GMT +13) (27 Feb 2021 08:14:38 GMT)
2.9

23 km
(202 km)Tasman Sea, 32 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
27 Feb 2021 10:27 am (GMT +13) (26 Feb 2021 21:27:52 GMT)
2.1

43 km
(149 km)Tasman Sea, 85 km northwest of Wellington, Nouvelle-Zélande MoreMap
27 Feb 2021 7:49 am (GMT +13) (26 Feb 2021 18:49:06 GMT)
2.0

118 km
(133 km)Tasman Sea, 96 km north of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
27 Feb 2021 2:50 am (GMT +13) (26 Feb 2021 13:50:25 GMT)
2.7

89 km
(220 km)Tasman Sea, 10.8 km north of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
26 Feb 2021 4:04 pm (GMT +13) (26 Feb 2021 03:04:17 GMT)
2.0

120 km
(137 km)Tasman Sea, 93 km north of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 25 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
25 Feb 2021 11:51 pm (GMT +13) (25 Feb 2021 10:51:06 GMT)
2.3

171 km
(146 km)Tasman Sea, 91 km north of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
25 Feb 2021 5:38 am (GMT +13) (24 Feb 2021 16:38:34 GMT)
1.9

35 km
(251 km)New Zealand MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 3:08 pm (GMT +13) (24 Feb 2021 02:08:17 GMT)
2.7

121 km
(141 km)Tasman Sea, 88 km north of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
24 Feb 2021 12:48 am (GMT +13) (23 Feb 2021 11:48:21 GMT)
2.4

107 km
(192 km)Tasman Sea, 39 km north of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
23 Feb 2021 1:00 am (GMT +13) (22 Feb 2021 12:00:29 GMT)
2.1

24 km
(136 km)Tasman Sea, 60 km west of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
21 Feb 2021 11:21 pm (GMT +13) (21 Feb 2021 10:21:52 GMT)
3.5

66 km
(247 km)Marlborough District, 21 km south of Nelson, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
20 Feb 2021 2:40 pm (GMT +13) (20 Feb 2021 01:40:14 GMT)
1.9

46 km
(202 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 19 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
20 Feb 2021 7:27 am (GMT +13) (19 Feb 2021 18:27:06 GMT)
1.9

88 km
(206 km)New Zealand MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 9:01 pm (GMT +13) (19 Feb 2021 08:01:00 GMT)
1.9

45 km
(206 km)Marlborough District, 85 km west of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 3:13 pm (GMT +13) (19 Feb 2021 02:13:48 GMT)
2.2

70 km
(187 km)Tasman Sea, 44 km northeast of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 2:56 pm (GMT +13) (19 Feb 2021 01:56:38 GMT)
2.0

12 km
(244 km)Tasman Sea, 28 km east of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
19 Feb 2021 12:47 pm (GMT +13) (18 Feb 2021 23:47:13 GMT)
2.0

49 km
(163 km)Tasman Sea, 67 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 12:31 pm (GMT +13) (18 Feb 2021 23:31:07 GMT)
1.9

37 km
(214 km)New Zealand MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 6:44 am (GMT +13) (18 Feb 2021 17:44:53 GMT)
2.0

35 km
(205 km)Marlborough District, 66 km west of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 10:20 pm (GMT +13) (18 Feb 2021 09:20:37 GMT)
2.1

33 km
(193 km)Tasman Sea, 57 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
18 Feb 2021 8:36 am (GMT +13) (17 Feb 2021 19:36:30 GMT)
2.5

78 km
(134 km)Tasman Sea, 107 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 4:36 am (GMT +13) (17 Feb 2021 15:36:36 GMT)
2.2

66 km
(243 km)16 km south of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 3:39 am (GMT +13) (17 Feb 2021 14:39:54 GMT)
2.0

72 km
(123 km)Tasman Sea, 117 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 11:46 pm (GMT +13) (17 Feb 2021 10:46:23 GMT)
2.2

12 km
(165 km)Tasman Sea, 64 km north of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
16 Feb 2021 11:16 pm (GMT +13) (16 Feb 2021 10:16:46 GMT)
2.3

57 km
(141 km)Tasman Sea, 96 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
15 Feb 2021 10:15 am (GMT +13) (14 Feb 2021 21:15:10 GMT)
1.9

37 km
(200 km)New Zealand MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 10:01 am (GMT +13) (14 Feb 2021 21:01:42 GMT)
2.2

34 km
(209 km)Marlborough District, 38 km east of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 3:36 am (GMT +13) (14 Feb 2021 14:36:48 GMT)
2.1

39 km
(196 km)Tasman Sea, 75 km west of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 8:33 pm (GMT +13) (14 Feb 2021 07:33:15 GMT)
2.0

53 km
(155 km)Tasman Sea, 76 km north of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 9:31 am (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 20:31:19 GMT)
1.9

26 km
(128 km)New Zealand MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 5:35 am (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 16:35:24 GMT)
1.9

77 km
(160 km)New Zealand MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 4:44 am (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 15:44:25 GMT)
2.0

12 km
(255 km)Tasman Sea, 42 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 2:41 am (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 13:41:53 GMT)
2.0

31 km
(173 km)Tasman Sea, 57 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 12:32 am (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 11:32:47 GMT)
2.0

75 km
(118 km)Tasman Sea, 115 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
13 Feb 2021 1:10 am (GMT +13) (12 Feb 2021 12:10:34 GMT)
2.5

12 km
(127 km)Tasman Sea, 80 km southwest of Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
12 Feb 2021 9:03 am (GMT +13) (11 Feb 2021 20:03:09 GMT)
2.0

8.5 km
(218 km)Tasman Sea, 21 km west of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 8:15 am (GMT +13) (11 Feb 2021 19:15:47 GMT)
2.7

159 km
(135 km)Tasman Sea, 97 km north of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 3:52 am (GMT +13) (11 Feb 2021 14:52:09 GMT)
2.9

73 km
(236 km)13 km southeast of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 12:04 am (GMT +13) (11 Feb 2021 11:04:26 GMT)
2.0

13 km
(236 km)Tasman Sea, 7.4 km south of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 8:48 pm (GMT +13) (11 Feb 2021 07:48:48 GMT)
2.5

38 km
(170 km)Tasman Sea, 71 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 7:45 pm (GMT +13) (11 Feb 2021 06:45:52 GMT)
2.0

25 km
(131 km)Tasman Sea, 99 km north of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
11 Feb 2021 12:18 pm (GMT +13) (10 Feb 2021 23:18:46 GMT)
3.0

69 km
(130 km)Tasman Sea, 99 km north of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 10:42 pm (GMT +13) (10 Feb 2021 09:42:18 GMT)
2.3

26 km
(248 km)Tasman Sea, 16 km east of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
9 Feb 2021 8:25 pm (GMT +13) (9 Feb 2021 07:25:21 GMT)
1.9

26 km
(213 km)New Zealand MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 8:00 pm (GMT +13) (9 Feb 2021 07:00:29 GMT)
2.6

92 km
(225 km)Tasman Sea, 8.1 km north of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 1:56 pm (GMT +13) (9 Feb 2021 00:56:46 GMT)
2.9

4.7 km
(182 km)Tasman Sea, 48 km north of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
9 Feb 2021 10:23 am (GMT +13) (8 Feb 2021 21:23:23 GMT)
2.2

55 km
(117 km)Tasman Sea, 116 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 12:32 am (GMT +13) (8 Feb 2021 11:32:11 GMT)
3.0

29 km
(246 km)Tasman Sea, 13 km east of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 9:55 pm (GMT +13) (8 Feb 2021 08:55:04 GMT)
2.4

153 km
(137 km)Tasman Sea, 93 km north of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 2:29 pm (GMT +13) (8 Feb 2021 01:29:26 GMT)
2.7

8.7 km
(250 km)Tasman Sea, 29 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Feb 2021 5:01 pm (GMT +13) (7 Feb 2021 04:01:51 GMT)
2.2

28 km
(157 km)Tasman Sea, 36 km northwest of Kapiti Island, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 6 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
6 Feb 2021 11:01 pm (GMT +13) (6 Feb 2021 10:01:56 GMT)
2.3

150 km
(136 km)Tasman Sea, 95 km north of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 6:11 pm (GMT +13) (6 Feb 2021 05:11:15 GMT)
2.4

68 km
(133 km)Tasman Sea, 59 km north of Forsyth Island, New Zealand MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 3:04 pm (GMT +13) (6 Feb 2021 02:04:32 GMT)
1.9

4.9 km
(180 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 4 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
5 Feb 2021 12:19 pm (GMT +13) (4 Feb 2021 23:19:57 GMT)
2.6

46 km
(162 km)Tasman Sea, 28 km north of Forsyth Island, New Zealand MoreMap
5 Feb 2021 9:07 am (GMT +13) (4 Feb 2021 20:07:45 GMT)
1.9

80 km
(219 km)Marlborough District, 22 km east of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
4 Feb 2021 3:40 pm (GMT +13) (4 Feb 2021 02:40:55 GMT)
2.6

56 km
(174 km)Tasman Sea, 13 km northwest of Forsyth Island, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 3 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Feb 2021 9:52 am (GMT +13) (3 Feb 2021 20:52:33 GMT)
2.4

33 km
(227 km)Tasman Sea, 16 km south of Arapawa Island, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 2 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Feb 2021 1:44 am (GMT +13) (2 Feb 2021 12:44:56 GMT)
2.2

12 km
(247 km)Tasman Sea, 34 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 1 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
2 Feb 2021 10:41 am (GMT +13) (1 Feb 2021 21:41:21 GMT)
2.2

24 km
(240 km)Tasman Sea, 30 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
2 Feb 2021 10:30 am (GMT +13) (1 Feb 2021 21:30:10 GMT)
1.9

12 km
(238 km)Tasman Sea, 32 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
1 Feb 2021 9:00 pm (GMT +13) (1 Feb 2021 08:00:50 GMT)
2.2

5 km
(184 km)Tasman Sea, 16 km west of Kapiti Island, New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 31 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
31 Jan 2021 4:24 pm (GMT +13) (31 Jan 2021 03:24:29 GMT)
2.2

32 km
(231 km)5.2 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.8 x 1010 joules (10.4 megawatt hours, equivalent to 8.97 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.