Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 29, 2022 09:56 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or near Honshu-miyagi-ken, Japan: past 7 days - list, stats and interactive map

Updated Jan 29, 2022 09:56 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Honshu-miyagi-ken was shaken by 3 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 6 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 11 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
In the past 24 hours, Honshu-miyagi-ken had 4 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
- past 7 days: 20 quakes M2+ | 9 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
- past 30 days: 95 quakes M2+ | 34 quakes M3+ | 8 quakes M4+
- past 90 days: 333 quakes M2+ | 117 quakes M3+ | 27 quakes M4+
- past 365 days: 2643 quakes M2+ | 925 quakes M3+ | 149 quakes M4+
Biggest quake: 4.8 quake North Pacific Ocean, Japan, Jan 29, 2022 6:00 am (GMT +9)
Most recent quake: 2.6 quake North Pacific Ocean, Japan, Jan 29, 2022 6:14 pm (GMT +9)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (20 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, January 29, 2022 09:14 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Jan 29, 2022 6:14 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 29, 2022 09:14 GMT)
2.6

52 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan MoreMap
Jan 29, 2022 12:34 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 29, 2022 03:34 GMT)
2.5

52 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan MoreMap
Friday, January 28, 2022 21:22 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Jan 29, 2022 6:22 am (GMT +9) (Jan 28, 2022 21:22 GMT)
4.3

46 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jan 29, 2022 6:00 am (GMT +9) (Jan 28, 2022 21:00 GMT)
4.8

55 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jan 28, 2022 10:35 am (GMT +9) (Jan 28, 2022 01:35 GMT)
4.5

67 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Thursday, January 27, 2022 17:01 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 28, 2022 2:01 am (GMT +9) (Jan 27, 2022 17:01 GMT)
3.0

26 km
North Pacific Ocean, 116 km southeast of Tashiro Jima Island, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wednesday, January 26, 2022 18:20 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Jan 27, 2022 3:20 am (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2022 18:20 GMT)
2.7

53 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan MoreMap
Jan 26, 2022 6:47 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 26, 2022 09:47 GMT)
2.9

60 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan MoreMap
Tuesday, January 25, 2022 23:03 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Jan 26, 2022 8:03 am (GMT +9) (Jan 25, 2022 23:03 GMT)
2.7

109 km
Ōshū-shi, Iwate, Japan MoreMap
Jan 26, 2022 5:39 am (GMT +9) (Jan 25, 2022 20:39 GMT)
3.5

54 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jan 26, 2022 4:27 am (GMT +9) (Jan 25, 2022 19:27 GMT)
2.7

17 km
North Pacific Ocean, Japan MoreMap
Jan 26, 2022 1:38 am (GMT +9) (Jan 25, 2022 16:38 GMT)
3.1

46 km
North Pacific Ocean, 78 km south of Tashiro Jima Island, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Monday, January 24, 2022 15:00 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Jan 25, 2022 12:00 am (GMT +9) (Jan 24, 2022 15:00 GMT)
2.8

22 km
North Pacific Ocean, 104 km southeast of Tashiro Jima Island, Japan MoreMap
Jan 24, 2022 9:12 pm (GMT +9) (Jan 24, 2022 12:12 GMT)
2.8

35 km
North Pacific Ocean, 268 km northeast of Tokyo, Japan MoreMap
Sunday, January 23, 2022 22:48 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Jan 24, 2022 7:48 am (GMT +9) (Jan 23, 2022 22:48 GMT)
3.0

83 km
Iwanuma-shi, Honshu-miyagi-ken, 286 km north of Tokyo, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jan 24, 2022 4:48 am (GMT +9) (Jan 23, 2022 19:48 GMT)
2.9

236 km
Iwafune-gun, Niigata, 268 km north of Tokyo, Japan MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.6 x 1012 joules (442 megawatt hours, equivalent to 380 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.