Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near the North Atlantic in the past 24 hours on Monday, January 30, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 30, 2023 14:23 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 21 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 103 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, the North Atlantic Ocean had 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 4 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 21 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 103 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A moderate magnitude 4.9 earthquake occurred in North Atlantic Ocean 21 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.9 | Boyaca, 45 km NE of La Dorada, Caldas, Colombia -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.9 | North Atlantic Ocean -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near the North Atlantic (updated )

Past 24 hours98 quakes21 quakes M2+4 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+
Past 7 days1,087 quakes322 quakes M2+78 quakes M3+10 quakes M4+4 quakes M5+
Past 30 days4,945 quakes1,397 quakes M2+315 quakes M3+64 quakes M4+13 quakes M5+1 quake M6+
Past 90 days14,404 quakes4,088 quakes M2+950 quakes M3+197 quakes M4+36 quakes M5+1 quake M6+
Past 365 days73,592 quakes22,957 quakes M2+4,968 quakes M3+1,017 quakes M4+104 quakes M5+9 quakes M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Algeria | Andorra | Antarctic Ocean | Antigua and Barbuda | Atlantic Ocean | Bahamas | Barbados | Belgium | Benin | Borkena Fasos | ...Show all... | West Virginia, USA | Western Central Pacific Ocean - Kiribati
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 1.6 or higher (62 out of 130 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, January 30, 2023 GMT (39 quakes)
Jan 30, 2023 2:48 pm (GMT +1) (Jan 30, 2023 13:48 GMT)
?

n/a
64 km south of Karkira, Skikda, Algeria (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 30, 2023 8:20 am (GMT -5) (Jan 30, 2023 13:20 GMT)
1.9

58 km
Boyaca, 45 km northeast of La Dorada, Caldas, Colombia More
Jan 30, 2023 1:19 pm (GMT +1) (Jan 30, 2023 12:19 GMT)
1.9
1.4 km northeast of Plénée-Jugon, Côtes-d'Armor, Bretagne, France More
Jan 30, 2023 1:06 pm (GMT +1) (Jan 30, 2023 12:06 GMT)
2.0

5 km
10.6 km west of Moron de la Frontera, Sevilla, Andalusia, Spain More
Jan 30, 2023 1:04 pm (GMT +1) (Jan 30, 2023 12:04 GMT)
1.7
28 km west of Lyon, Departement du Rhone, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France More
Jan 30, 2023 1:03 pm (GMT +1) (Jan 30, 2023 12:03 GMT)
3.0

2 km
13 km east of du ai, North, Hauts-de-France
I FELT IT
More
Jan 30, 2023 1:03 pm (GMT +1) (Jan 30, 2023 12:03 GMT)
1.8

11 km
19 km southwest of Saint-Brieuc, Côtes-d'Armor, Bretagne, France More
Jan 30, 2023 12:54 pm (GMT +1) (Jan 30, 2023 11:54 GMT)
1.9
16 km east of Bressuire, Deux-Sèvres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, France More
Jan 30, 2023 12:38 pm (GMT +1) (Jan 30, 2023 11:38 GMT)
1.9
23 km north of Chaumont, Haute-Marne, Grand Est, France More
Jan 30, 2023 12:36 pm (GMT +1) (Jan 30, 2023 11:36 GMT)
1.6
France: Near Le Mans (quarry Blast) More
Jan 30, 2023 12:08 pm (GMT +1) (Jan 30, 2023 11:08 GMT)
1.7
15 km north of Saint-Dié, Vosges, Grand Est, France More
Jan 30, 2023 6:24 am (GMT -4) (Jan 30, 2023 10:24 GMT)
2.4

14 km
Guanica, 10.4 km southwest of Yauco, Puerto Rico More
Jan 30, 2023 11:10 am (GMT +1) (Jan 30, 2023 10:10 GMT)
1.7
France: Near Montauban (quarry Blast) More
Jan 30, 2023 11:09 am (GMT +1) (Jan 30, 2023 10:09 GMT)
1.7
France: Near Béziers (quarry Blast) More
Jan 30, 2023 11:07 am (GMT +1) (Jan 30, 2023 10:07 GMT)
1.9
22 km northwest of Vesoul, Haute-Saône, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France 1 reportMore
Jan 30, 2023 8:31 am (GMT -1) (Jan 30, 2023 09:31 GMT)
2.3

4 km
15 km northwest of Angra do Heroismo, Azores, Portugal More
Jan 30, 2023 4:05 am (GMT -5) (Jan 30, 2023 09:05 GMT)
3.1

148 km
36 km south of Bucaramanga, Santander, Colombia
I FELT IT
More
Jan 30, 2023 4:05 am (GMT -5) (Jan 30, 2023 09:05 GMT)
2.8

144 km
17 km southwest of Piedecuesta, Santander, Colombia More
Jan 30, 2023 9:31 am (GMT +1) (Jan 30, 2023 08:31 GMT)
2.1

8 km
Alboran Sea, 48 km northeast of Al Hoceima, Morocco More
Jan 30, 2023 2:33 am (GMT -5) (Jan 30, 2023 07:33 GMT)
?

n/a
4.1 mi east of Winston-Salem, Forsyth County, North Carolina, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Jan 30, 2023 3:29 am (GMT -4) (Jan 30, 2023 07:29 GMT)
2.2

17 km
4.1 km south of Yauco, Puerto Rico More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.6 x 1012 joules (446 megawatt hours, equivalent to 384 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: (ROSA/PM network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station : seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

North Atlantic Ocean Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in or near the North Atlantic?

The last earthquake in or near the North Atlantic occurred 1 hour and 4 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.9 earthquake - Boyaca, 45 km northeast of La Dorada, Caldas, Colombia, on Monday, Jan 30, 2023 at 8:20 am (GMT -5).

How many quakes were there in or near the North Atlantic today?

In the past 24 hours, North Atlantic Ocean had 62 quakes up to magnitude 4.9.

What was the strongest quake in or near the North Atlantic today?

The strongest earthquake in or near the North Atlantic today occurred 21 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.9 earthquake - North Atlantic Ocean on Sunday, Jan 29, 2023 at 2:04 pm (GMT -3).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings