Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes near Rotorua volcano in the past 7 days - list, stats and map

Updated: Feb 6, 2023 00:32 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 7 days:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 14 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 4 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 7 days, Rotorua volcano had 1 quake of magnitude 3.1 and 14 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 4 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.4 | Waikato, 22 km SW of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.1 | 8.7 km N of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand -

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (19 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Sunday, February 5, 2023 GMT (4 quakes)
Feb 6, 2023 12:52 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 5, 2023 23:52 GMT)
2.4

167 km
28 km (17 mi)Waikato, 22 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Feb 6, 2023 5:32 am (GMT +13) (Feb 5, 2023 16:32 GMT)
2.1

80 km
25 km (16 mi)27 km southeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Feb 5, 2023 8:41 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 5, 2023 07:41 GMT)
2.7

182 km
26 km (16 mi)26 km south of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Feb 5, 2023 4:08 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 5, 2023 03:08 GMT)
2.1

160 km
30 km (19 mi)Waikato, 36 km southwest of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Saturday, February 4, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Feb 5, 2023 11:18 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 22:18 GMT)
2.1

5.1 km
35 km (22 mi)3 km southwest of Kawerau, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Feb 5, 2023 12:38 am (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 11:38 GMT)
2.4

199 km
31 km (19 mi)21 km southwest of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Feb 4, 2023 2:06 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 4, 2023 01:06 GMT)
2.3

114 km
31 km (19 mi)49 km southeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Friday, February 3, 2023 GMT (3 quakes)
Feb 4, 2023 6:44 am (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 17:44 GMT)
1.5

96 km
13 km (8.1 mi)6.7 km southwest of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Feb 4, 2023 1:44 am (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 12:44 GMT)
2.3

166 km
41 km (25 mi)41 km north of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Feb 3, 2023 1:12 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 3, 2023 00:12 GMT)
2.4

147 km
21 km (13 mi)18 km west of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Thursday, February 2, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Feb 2, 2023 6:38 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 2, 2023 05:38 GMT)
1.4

5.9 km
34 km (21 mi)North Island, New Zealand MoreMap
Feb 2, 2023 2:45 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 2, 2023 01:45 GMT)
3.1

130 km
2.2 km (1.4 mi)8.7 km north of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Wednesday, February 1, 2023 GMT (4 quakes)
Feb 2, 2023 5:58 am (GMT +13) (Feb 1, 2023 16:58 GMT)
2.3

81 km
28 km (17 mi)31 km east of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Feb 2, 2023 4:28 am (GMT +13) (Feb 1, 2023 15:28 GMT)
2.0

4.9 km
5.6 km (3.5 mi)1.5 km east of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand 2 reportsMoreMap
Feb 1, 2023 11:09 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 1, 2023 10:09 GMT)
2.3

157 km
33 km (21 mi)14 km southeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Feb 1, 2023 2:38 pm (GMT +13) (Feb 1, 2023 01:38 GMT)
2.9

116 km
37 km (23 mi)30 km west of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Tuesday, January 31, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Feb 1, 2023 12:03 am (GMT +13) (Jan 31, 2023 11:03 GMT)
1.8

45 km
36 km (22 mi)34 km southeast of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Jan 31, 2023 4:05 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 31, 2023 03:05 GMT)
2.2

134 km
35 km (22 mi)Waikato, 37 km southwest of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Monday, January 30, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 31, 2023 7:21 am (GMT +13) (Jan 30, 2023 18:21 GMT)
1.9

99 km
30 km (19 mi)23 km south of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7 x 109 joules (1.93 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.66 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Mon, 28 Nov 2016, 18:05

Rotorua volcano (New Zealand): small hydrothermal lake eruption yesterday

Area near yesterday's steam eruption in Rotorua Lake (image: newshub.co.nz / twitter)
A small steam explosion (hydrothermal eruption) occurred yesterday in Lake Rotorua. A fountain of water was seen ejected to about 30 m. [read more]. ... Read all
Wed, 23 Nov 2016, 06:00

Rotorua volcano (North Island, New Zealand) - Smithsonian / USGS Weekly Volcanic Activity Report for 23 November-29 November 2016 (New Activity / Unrest)

GeoNet reported a small hydrothermal eruption in Lake Rotorua on 28 November, and noted that the occurrence was not unusual. In a news article residents described a geyser that rose 20-30 m above the lake surface. A GNS scientists noted that the last significant steam eruptions in Rotorua occurred about 15 years ago. ... Read all
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings