Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 May 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
News
Monday, Nov 28, 2016
Area near yesterday's steam eruption in Rotorua Lake (image: newshub.co.nz / twitter)
A small steam explosion (hydrothermal eruption) occurred yesterday in Lake Rotorua. A fountain of water was seen ejected to about 30 m. [read more]. ... read all
 

Rotorua volcano

Caldera 757 m / 2,484 ft
New Zealand, -38.08°S / 176.27°E
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5) | Reports
Rotorua volcano books
Last update: 26 Mar 2019
Typical eruption style: unspecified
Rotorua volcano eruptions: Pleistocene
TimeMag. / DepthDistanceLocation
Mon, 19 Oct 2020 (UTC)
19 Oct 7:47 pm (GMT +13) (19 Oct 06:47:25 UTC)M 2.2 / 145.9 km4 km44 Km S of Tauranga, New Zealand
Sat, 17 Oct 2020 (UTC)
17 Oct 3:09 pm (GMT +13) (17 Oct 02:09:52 UTC)M 2.1 / 134.4 km14 km46 Km S of Tauranga, New Zealand
Fri, 16 Oct 2020 (UTC)
17 Oct 7:57 am (GMT +13) (16 Oct 18:57:10 UTC)M 2.8 / 134.2 km17 km12 Km SW of Rotorua, New Zealand
Thu, 15 Oct 2020 (UTC)
15 Oct 8:18 pm (GMT +13) (15 Oct 07:18:48 UTC)M 2.4 / 132.2 km6 km40 Km SSE of Tauranga, New Zealand
Wed, 14 Oct 2020 (UTC)
14 Oct 10:42 pm (GMT +13) (14 Oct 09:42:25 UTC)M 2.3 / 101.5 km5 km12 Km ENE of Rotorua, New Zealand
View all recent quakes

Background:

The 22-km-wide Rotorua caldera is the NW-most caldera of the Taupo volcanic zone. Rotorua is the only single-event caldera in the Taupo volcanic zone and was formed about 220,000 years ago following eruption of the >340 cu km rhyolitic Mamaku Ignimbrite. Although caldera collapse occurred in a single event, the process was complex and involved multiple collapse blocks. The major city of Rotorua lies at the south end of the lake that fills much of the caldera. Post-collapse eruptive activity, which ceased during the Pleistocene, has been restricted to lava dome extrusion without major explosive activity. The youngest eruptive activity at Rotorua consisted of the eruption of three lava domes less than 25,000 years ago. The major thermal areas of Takeke, Tikitere, Lake Rotokawa, and Rotorua-Whakarewarewa are located within the caldera or outside its rim, and the city of Rotorua lies within and adjacent to active geothermal fields.
---
Smithsonian / GVP volcano information

Rotorua Photos:

 


Latest satellite images


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
 

More on VolcanoDiscovery

 
Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.