Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near Rungapapa Knoll volcano: past 14 days

Updated Oct 22, 2021 23:35 GMT -
During the past 14 days, Rungapapa Knoll volcano was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.7, 2 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 14 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 4.7 quake South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand, Oct 13, 2021 7:58 pm (GMT +13)
Most recent quake: 2.6 quake South Pacific Ocean, 86 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, Oct 22, 2021 2:56 am (GMT +12)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (18 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Thursday, October 21, 2021 14:56 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 22, 2021 2:56 am (GMT +12) (Oct 21, 2021 14:56 GMT)
2.6

188 km
46 km (29 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 86 km northeast of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Wednesday, October 20, 2021 21:55 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 21, 2021 10:55 am (GMT +13) (Oct 20, 2021 21:55 GMT)
2.1

45 km
32 km (20 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 21, 2021 12:10 am (GMT +13) (Oct 20, 2021 11:10 GMT)
2.2

105 km
32 km (20 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Saturday, October 16, 2021 17:01 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 17, 2021 6:01 am (GMT +13) (Oct 16, 2021 17:01 GMT)
3.0

169 km
49 km (30 mi)New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 1:13 am (GMT +13) (Oct 16, 2021 12:13 GMT)
2.5

114 km
26 km (16 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Friday, October 15, 2021 22:17 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 16, 2021 11:17 am (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 22:17 GMT)
3.0

92 km
48 km (30 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Thursday, October 14, 2021 21:43 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 15, 2021 9:43 am (GMT +12) (Oct 14, 2021 21:43 GMT)
2.5

191 km
44 km (27 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 3:36 am (GMT +13) (Oct 14, 2021 14:36 GMT)
2.0

162 km
43 km (27 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 3:19 am (GMT +13) (Oct 14, 2021 14:19 GMT)
2.6

125 km
34 km (21 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 4:07 pm (GMT +12) (Oct 14, 2021 04:07 GMT)
2.5

127 km
8.1 km (5 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Wednesday, October 13, 2021 08:37 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 13, 2021 9:37 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 13, 2021 08:37 GMT)
2.3

5 km
25 km (16 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 8:18 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 13, 2021 07:18 GMT)
2.5

5 km
34 km (21 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 7:58 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 13, 2021 06:58 GMT)
4.7

138 km
23 km (14 mi)South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand 4 reportsMoreMap
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 11:14 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 13, 2021 12:14 am (GMT +13) (Oct 12, 2021 11:14 GMT)
2.7

5 km
16 km (9.9 mi)New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Sunday, October 10, 2021 14:24 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 11, 2021 3:24 am (GMT +13) (Oct 10, 2021 14:24 GMT)
1.8

145 km
33 km (21 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 10, 2021 8:46 pm (GMT +12) (Oct 10, 2021 08:46 GMT)
2.2

102 km
39 km (24 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Saturday, October 9, 2021 16:04 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 10, 2021 4:04 am (GMT +12) (Oct 9, 2021 16:04 GMT)
2.4

67 km
38 km (24 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 79 km north of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 9, 2021 11:26 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 9, 2021 10:26 GMT)
2.0

33 km
10.4 km (6.5 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 41 km north of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.2 x 1011 joules (199 megawatt hours, equivalent to 171 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes vs time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.