Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 May 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
24 Jun - 8 Jul 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
30 Jul - 13 Aug 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Latest news
Sat, 31 Oct 2020, 05:59
Devastation caused by the landslide. Source: AAP Newswire
At least nine people have been killed after torrential rain caused a landslide on the northeast flank of the volcano, which tore a 4 km path through the village of Los Angelitos, Nejapa. 60 homes were buried and 75 damaged. Landslides at San Salvador are a known hazard- other destructive events occurred in 1982 and 2001. ... read all
Wed, 23 Jan 2013, 11:05
Current seismic signal San Salvador (GRDA station, SNET)
Small volcanic quakes and weak tremor are visible at the seismogram, but within normal levels for this active volcano. ... read all

Latest earthquakes near San Salvador volcano past 14 days

Updated 20 Jan 2021 04:56 GMT -
There were 4 quakes of magnitude 2.0+ near San Salvador volcano during the past 14 days, the largest largest being a 2.6 event.
Biggest quake: 2.6 quake 7.2 km north of Ciudad Arce, Departamento de La Libertad, El Salvador, 9 Jan 2021 6:17 am (GMT -6)
Most recent quake: 2.1 quake 15 km northwest of Santa Tecla, Departamento de La Libertad, El Salvador, 16 Jan 2021 9:30 pm (GMT -6)
...Read More
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (4 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Sun, 17 Jan 2021 (GMT)
16 Jan 2021 9:30 pm (GMT -6) (17 Jan 2021 03:30:24 GMT)
2.1

8 km
San Salvador (10.1 km) - El Salvador15 km northwest of Santa Tecla, Departamento de La Libertad, El Salvador MoreMap
Sat, 16 Jan 2021 (GMT)
16 Jan 2021 1:16 am (GMT -6) (16 Jan 2021 07:16:29 GMT)
2.1

6 km
San Salvador (10.8 km) - El SalvadorDepartamento de San Salvador, 2.4 km east of Antiguo Cuscatlan, Antiguo Cuscatlán, Departamento de La Libertad, El Salvador MoreMap
Thu, 14 Jan 2021 (GMT)
14 Jan 2021 4:59 am (GMT -6) (14 Jan 2021 10:59:33 GMT)
2.4

6 km
Ilopango (29 km) - El SalvadorDepartamento de Cuscatlan, 9.3 km southeast of Ilopango, Departamento de San Salvador, El Salvador MoreMap
Sat, 9 Jan 2021 (GMT)
9 Jan 2021 6:17 am (GMT -6) (9 Jan 2021 12:17:19 GMT)
2.6

4 km
Coatepeque (23 km) - El Salvador7.2 km north of Ciudad Arce, Departamento de La Libertad, El Salvador MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 9.3 x 108 joules (259 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.222 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.