Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Savonovski River Cluster volcano

Updated: Mar 4, 2024 14:27 GMT -
Stratovolcano(es) 1298 m / 4259 ft
Alaska Peninsula, United States, 58.55°N / -154.5°W
Current status: (probably) extinct (0 out of 5)

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: unspecified
Savonovski River Cluster volcano eruptions: None during the past 10,000 years
Less than few million years ago (Pleistocene)

Latest nearby earthquakes

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Mar 2, 08:25 am (Anchorage)
Mar 2, 17:25 GMT
1.6

81 km
25 km (16 mi) to the E 81 mi northwest of Kodiak, Kodiak Island Borough, Alaska, USA Info
Monday, February 26, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 26, 02:26 am (Anchorage)
Feb 26, 11:26 GMT
1.2

6.5 km
21 km (13 mi) to the SW Lake and Peninsula, 97 mi northwest of Kodiak, Kodiak Island Borough, Alaska, USA Info

Background

A group of small Pleistocene stratovolcanoes and a scoria cone lies behind the volcanic front near the headwaters of the Savonovski River, NW of the Denison to Devils Creek alignment of volcanoes. Dated ages range from about 88,000 to 390,000 years (Hildreth et al., 2003).
---
Source: Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8 | NASA FIRMS
News

No news in this list.