Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes near Silent II East volcano since 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Mar 3, 2024 16:17 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes near Silent II East volcano in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake near Silent II East volcano, find out which quakes are happening right now!
There was one earthquake of magnitude 3.7 near Silent II East volcano in the past 7 days.
Since 2023, Silent II East volcano has had 47 quakes of magnitudes above 2 and up to 4.4:
  • 6 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 36 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
Latest today: Mag. 3.7 Earthquake South Pacific Ocean, 362 km NE of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand -
Strongest: Mag. 4.4 Earthquake New Zealand -

Number of quakes per year

Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]

Quakes, magnitude and depth over time

Past 48 hrs
Past 7 days
14 days
30 days
1 year
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Check for new quakes now!
in sec
Pause automatic refreshing
Showing all recent or significant quakes since 2023, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 30 km (19 mi) distance (47 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Mar 3, 11:49 pm (Auckland)
Mar 3, 11:49 GMT
3.7

146 km
15 km (9.5 mi) to the NW South Pacific Ocean, 362 km northeast of Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT
Info
Sunday, February 18, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 18, 02:46 pm (Auckland)
Feb 18, 02:46 GMT
3.4

152 km
14 km (8.4 mi) to the W 387 km north of Gisborne, Gisborne, New Zealand Info
Saturday, February 17, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 17, 08:28 pm (Auckland)
Feb 17, 08:28 GMT
2.7

200 km
20 km (13 mi) to the W New Zealand Info
Tuesday, February 6, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 7, 05:15 am (Auckland)
Feb 6, 16:15 GMT
3.0

219 km
28 km (18 mi) to the SW New Zealand Info
Monday, February 5, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 6, 08:13 am (Auckland)
Feb 5, 19:13 GMT
2.9

222 km
22 km (13 mi) to the SE New Zealand Info
Wednesday, January 24, 2024 GMT (2 quakes)
Jan 25, 05:04 am (Auckland)
Jan 24, 16:04 GMT
3.7

273 km
28 km (17 mi) to the W Bay of Plenty, New Zealand Info
Jan 24, 08:36 pm (Auckland)
Jan 24, 07:36 GMT
3.7

192 km
26 km (16 mi) to the SE Gisborne, New Zealand Info
Sunday, January 21, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 21, 11:45 pm (Auckland)
Jan 21, 11:45 GMT
3.4

300 km
30 km (19 mi) to the N New Zealand Info
Tuesday, January 9, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 10, 12:21 am (GMT +12)
Jan 9, 12:21 GMT
3.0

100 km
19 km (12 mi) to the W New Zealand Info
Monday, January 8, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Jan 8, 10:44 pm (GMT +12)
Jan 8, 10:44 GMT
3.7

100 km
13 km (7.9 mi) to the NW New Zealand Info
Tuesday, December 26, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 27, 2023 12:36 am (GMT +12)
Dec 26, 2023 12:36 GMT
3.2

218 km
6.2 km (3.9 mi) to the SE South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand Info
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.2 x 1012 joules (343 megawatt hours, equivalent to 295 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes is not because global seismic activity has increased, but because the number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has been constantly increasing.
This is most evident if one looks at the number of smaller earthquakes (below magnitude 5). For larger quakes (magnitude 5 or more), the effect disappears after around the 1990s. Since then, the global coverage of earthquake of larger quakes has been nearly complete.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 175 quakes on average per year near Silent II East volcano:
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 0.15 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 6.7 years)
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 3.8 quakes per year
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 16.8 quakes per year
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 17.4 quakes per year

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Magnitude and seismic energy over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: Past 90 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 30 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 7 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 24 hours
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 2023
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 2024 so far

Magnitude and energy distribution

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Magnitude and energy distribution: Past 90 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 30 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 7 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 24 hours
Magnitude and energy distribution: 2023
Magnitude and energy distribution: 2024 so far

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:
News

No news in this list.

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings