Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes near unnamed volcano since 1970 - list, stats and map

Updated: Mar 2, 2024 08:05 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes near unnamed volcano in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake near unnamed volcano, find out which quakes are happening right now!

Number of quakes per year

.
There were no significant confirmed earthquakes near unnamed volcano in the past 7 days.

Since 1970, unnamed volcano has had 12 quakes of magnitudes above 3 and up to 5.6:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 8 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]

Quakes, magnitude and depth over time

Past 7 days
14 days
30 days
1 year
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
in sec
Showing all recent or significant quakes since 1970, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 30 km (19 mi) distance (12 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Oct 17, 2007 07:31 pm (GMT +10)
Oct 17, 2007 09:31 GMT

4.6

35 km
22 km (13 mi) to the N 134 km northeast of Madang, Madang Province, Papua New Guinea More
Sunday, August 12, 2007 GMT (1 quake)
Aug 12, 2007 08:45 pm (Port Moresby)
Aug 12, 2007 10:45 GMT

3.8

69 km
23 km (15 mi) to the S 92 km northeast of Madang, Madang Province, Papua New Guinea More
Monday, May 1, 2000 GMT (1 quake)
May 2, 2000 02:29 am (GMT +10)
May 1, 2000 16:29 GMT

4.0

33 km
15 km (9.1 mi) to the NE 127 km northeast of Madang, Madang Province, Papua New Guinea More
Sunday, April 30, 2000 GMT (1 quake)
May 1, 2000 07:22 am (GMT +10)
Apr 30, 2000 21:22 GMT

4.3

33 km
20 km (12 mi) to the NE 133 km northeast of Madang, Madang Province, Papua New Guinea More
Wednesday, March 11, 1998 GMT (1 quake)
Mar 11, 1998 05:56 pm (Port Moresby)
Mar 11, 1998 07:56 GMT

4.2

33 km
17 km (10.8 mi) to the SW 96 km northeast of Madang, Madang Province, Papua New Guinea More
Friday, March 14, 1997 GMT (1 quake)
Mar 14, 1997 10:48 pm (GMT +10)
Mar 14, 1997 12:48 GMT

3.7

33 km
29 km (18 mi) to the SE 117 km northeast of Madang, Madang Province, Papua New Guinea More
Saturday, October 3, 1992 GMT (1 quake)
Oct 3, 1992 04:55 pm (GMT +10)
Oct 3, 1992 06:55 GMT

4.9

144 km
21 km (13 mi) to the N 135 km northeast of Madang, Madang Province, Papua New Guinea More
Friday, February 14, 1992 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 14, 1992 10:02 pm (GMT +10)
Feb 14, 1992 12:02 GMT

5.6

42 km
12 km (7.5 mi) to the SE 112 km northeast of Madang, Madang Province, Papua New Guinea More
Sunday, December 15, 1991 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 15, 1991 11:49 pm (GMT +10)
Dec 15, 1991 13:49 GMT

4.8

31 km
15 km (9.5 mi) to the N 128 km northeast of Madang, Madang Province, Papua New Guinea More
Friday, August 11, 1989 GMT (1 quake)
Aug 11, 1989 10:32 am (GMT +10)
Aug 11, 1989 00:32 GMT

4.4

33 km
24 km (15 mi) to the NW 120 km north of Madang, Madang Province, Papua New Guinea More
Sunday, October 4, 1981 GMT (2 quakes)
Oct 4, 1981 04:07 pm (Port Moresby)
Oct 4, 1981 06:07 GMT

3.4

33 km
29 km (18 mi) to the SW 85 km northeast of Madang, Madang Province, Papua New Guinea More
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2 x 1013 joules (5.54 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 4767 tons of TNT or 0.3 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes is not because global seismic activity has increased, but because the number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has been constantly increasing.
This is most evident if one looks at the number of smaller earthquakes (below magnitude 5). For larger quakes (magnitude 5 or more), the effect disappears after around the 1990s. Since then, the global coverage of earthquake of larger quakes has been nearly complete.

Average number of earthquakes

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Magnitude and seismic energy over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: Past 90 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 30 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 7 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 24 hours
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 2023
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 2024 so far

Magnitude and energy distribution

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Magnitude and energy distribution: Past 90 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 30 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 7 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 24 hours
Magnitude and energy distribution: 2023
Magnitude and energy distribution: 2024 so far

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

No news in this list.

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings