Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 May 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
24 Jun - 8 Jul 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
30 Jul - 13 Aug 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
News

No news in this list.

Latest earthquakes near Taapaca volcano past 14 days

Updated 19 Jan 2021 03:00 GMT -
During the past 14 days, Taapaca volcano was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 3.4 and 1 quake of magnitude 2.7.
Biggest quake: 3.4 quake Provincia de Parinacota, 91 km east of Arica, Arica y Parinacota, Chile, 17 Jan 2021 5:33 am (GMT -3)
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (2 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Sun, 17 Jan 2021 (GMT)
17 Jan 2021 5:33 am (GMT -3) (17 Jan 2021 08:33:53 GMT)
3.4

130 km
(39 km)Provincia de Parinacota, 91 km east of Arica, Arica y Parinacota, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sat, 9 Jan 2021 (GMT)
9 Jan 2021 6:40 pm (GMT -3) (9 Jan 2021 21:40:15 GMT)
2.7

138 km
(34 km)Provincia de Parinacota, 119 km northeast of Arica, Provincia de Arica, Arica y Parinacota, Chile MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.7 x 109 joules (2.4 megawatt hours, equivalent to 2.07 tons of TNT) More info
Look up past earthquakes:
Show quakes!

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.