Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near Taranaki volcano: past 30 days

Updated Oct 17, 2021 22:12 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Taranaki volcano was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 27 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 10 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.5 quake 12 km southeast of Hawera, South Taranaki District, New Zealand, Sep 28, 2021 11:52 pm (GMT +13)
Most recent quake: 2.2 quake South Taranaki District, Taranaki, New Zealand, Oct 16, 2021 7:14 pm (GMT +13)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (39 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
DistanceLocationDetailsMap
Saturday, October 16, 2021 06:14 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 16, 2021 7:14 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 16, 2021 06:14 GMT)
2.2

176 km
32 km (20 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Thursday, October 14, 2021 22:06 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 15, 2021 11:06 am (GMT +13) (Oct 14, 2021 22:06 GMT)
2.3

192 km
41 km (25 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 9:40 am (GMT +13) (Oct 14, 2021 20:40 GMT)
1.9

12 km
11 km (6.8 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 14, 2021 1:50 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 14, 2021 00:50 GMT)
1.8

197 km
35 km (22 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Wednesday, October 13, 2021 19:43 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 14, 2021 8:43 am (GMT +13) (Oct 13, 2021 19:43 GMT)
2.5

178 km
47 km (29 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 08:22 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 12, 2021 9:22 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 12, 2021 08:22 GMT)
3.3

52 km
47 km (29 mi)3.3 NORTH ISLAND OF NEW ZEALAND
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Monday, October 11, 2021 22:10 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 12, 2021 11:10 am (GMT +13) (Oct 11, 2021 22:10 GMT)
2.7

227 km
49 km (30 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 11, 2021 8:11 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 11, 2021 07:11 GMT)
2.7

190 km
32 km (20 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Sunday, October 10, 2021 07:01 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 10, 2021 8:01 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 10, 2021 07:01 GMT)
1.8

130 km
42 km (26 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 10, 2021 3:50 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 10, 2021 02:50 GMT)
2.9

229 km
31 km (19 mi)New Zealand MoreMap
Friday, October 8, 2021 03:00 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 8, 2021 4:00 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 8, 2021 03:00 GMT)
2.9

127 km
33 km (21 mi)South Taranaki District, 49 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Thursday, October 7, 2021 14:35 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 8, 2021 3:35 am (GMT +13) (Oct 7, 2021 14:35 GMT)
2.2

126 km
36 km (22 mi)South Taranaki District, 54 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 7, 2021 10:38 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 7, 2021 09:38 GMT)
2.1

128 km
39 km (24 mi)South Taranaki District, 56 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Wednesday, October 6, 2021 13:02 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 7, 2021 2:02 am (GMT +13) (Oct 6, 2021 13:02 GMT)
2.2

120 km
36 km (22 mi)South Taranaki District, 55 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Tuesday, October 5, 2021 17:08 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 6, 2021 6:08 am (GMT +13) (Oct 5, 2021 17:08 GMT)
2.5

166 km
45 km (28 mi)Stratford District, 54 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 6, 2021 2:18 am (GMT +13) (Oct 5, 2021 13:18 GMT)
1.7

7.2 km
32 km (20 mi)Tasman Sea, 9.3 km northwest of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Sunday, October 3, 2021 10:23 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 3, 2021 11:23 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 3, 2021 10:23 GMT)
1.4

114 km
30 km (19 mi)South Taranaki District, 45 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 3, 2021 9:31 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 3, 2021 08:31 GMT)
1.8

16 km
48 km (30 mi)41 km east of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Saturday, October 2, 2021 02:33 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 2, 2021 3:33 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 2, 2021 02:33 GMT)
2.3

103 km
42 km (26 mi)Tasman Sea, 68 km south of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Friday, October 1, 2021 22:00 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 2, 2021 11:00 am (GMT +13) (Oct 1, 2021 22:00 GMT)
2.6

126 km
34 km (21 mi)South Taranaki District, 50 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 2, 2021 4:50 am (GMT +13) (Oct 1, 2021 15:50 GMT)
2.0

119 km
42 km (26 mi)South Taranaki District, 62 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 2, 2021 2:05 am (GMT +13) (Oct 1, 2021 13:05 GMT)
2.1

127 km
39 km (24 mi)South Taranaki District, 56 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Thursday, September 30, 2021 19:32 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Oct 1, 2021 8:32 am (GMT +13) (Sep 30, 2021 19:32 GMT)
2.0

15 km
46 km (29 mi)Stratford District, 55 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 1, 2021 8:31 am (GMT +13) (Sep 30, 2021 19:31 GMT)
2.2

114 km
42 km (26 mi)South Taranaki District, 61 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 1, 2021 1:17 am (GMT +13) (Sep 30, 2021 12:17 GMT)
2.5

135 km
33 km (21 mi)Stratford District, 45 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 30, 2021 10:57 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 30, 2021 09:57 GMT)
2.5

227 km
32 km (20 mi)South Taranaki District, 50 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Tuesday, September 28, 2021 18:09 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 29, 2021 7:09 am (GMT +13) (Sep 28, 2021 18:09 GMT)
2.2

118 km
28 km (17 mi)South Taranaki District, 48 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 28, 2021 11:52 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 28, 2021 10:52 GMT)
3.5

116 km
49 km (30 mi)12 km southeast of Hawera, South Taranaki District, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 28, 2021 8:33 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 28, 2021 07:33 GMT)
1.5

133 km
34 km (21 mi)South Taranaki District, 48 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Saturday, September 25, 2021 04:32 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 25, 2021 4:32 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 25, 2021 04:32 GMT)
1.9

195 km
44 km (27 mi)Tasman Sea, 69 km south of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Friday, September 24, 2021 22:21 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 25, 2021 10:21 am (GMT +12) (Sep 24, 2021 22:21 GMT)
1.7

16 km
48 km (30 mi)41 km east of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 24, 2021 10:05 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 24, 2021 10:05 GMT)
2.3

131 km
43 km (27 mi)South Taranaki District, 59 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 24, 2021 7:37 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 24, 2021 07:37 GMT)
1.9

131 km
35 km (22 mi)South Taranaki District, 52 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 03:18 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 22, 2021 3:18 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 22, 2021 03:18 GMT)
2.6

197 km
37 km (23 mi)Tasman Sea, 5.4 km southwest of Hawera, South Taranaki District, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 22, 2021 12:41 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 22, 2021 00:41 GMT)
2.4

189 km
42 km (26 mi)Tasman Sea, 68 km south of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Tuesday, September 21, 2021 21:27 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 22, 2021 9:27 am (GMT +12) (Sep 21, 2021 21:27 GMT)
2.8

209 km
30 km (19 mi)Tasman Sea, 56 km south of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Sep 21, 2021 9:12 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 21, 2021 09:12 GMT)
2.0

119 km
35 km (22 mi)South Taranaki District, 49 km southeast of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Sunday, September 19, 2021 19:57 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 20, 2021 7:57 am (GMT +12) (Sep 19, 2021 19:57 GMT)
2.4

163 km
38 km (24 mi)Tasman Sea, 64 km south of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Saturday, September 18, 2021 10:23 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 18, 2021 10:23 pm (GMT +12) (Sep 18, 2021 10:23 GMT)
2.1

112 km
46 km (29 mi)South Taranaki District, 68 km south of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.7 x 1010 joules (7.48 megawatt hours, equivalent to 6.43 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.