Tarowa volcano

Caldera 755 m / 2477 ft
Sumbawa Island, Indonesia, -8.7°S / 118.16°E
Current status: (probably) extinct (0 out of 5)

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: unspecified
Tarowa volcano eruptions: None during the past 10,000 years
Less than few million years ago (Pleistocene)

Latest nearby earthquakes

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Wednesday, September 15, 2021 21:06 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 16, 2021 5:06 am (GMT +8) (Sep 15, 2021 21:06 GMT)
3.6

113 km
24 km (15 mi)
15 km southwest of Dompu, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Saturday, September 11, 2021 08:40 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 11, 2021 4:40 pm (GMT +8) (Sep 11, 2021 08:40 GMT)
3.7

114 km
31 km (19 mi)
8.1 km west of Dompu, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Friday, September 10, 2021 00:45 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 10, 2021 8:45 am (GMT +8) (Sep 10, 2021 00:45 GMT)
2.2

110 km
48 km (30 mi)
Flores Sea, 27 km northwest of Dompu, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia

Background

A geological map by Garvin (2002, shown in Khant et al., 2013) identifies this Tarowa as late Pliocene-early Pleistocene. This volcano is in the center of Sumbawa and includes an eroded caldera about 3.5 x 5 km, open to the SSW.
---
Source: Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Show more
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.