Tianshan volcano

volcanic field unknown
Xinjiang Province, NW China, 42.5°N / 82.5°E
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)

Tianshan volcano is a group of cinder cones in the Tianshan Mountains of Xinjiang Province in NW China. The Pechan cone was active in the 1st and 7th centuries AD. Pechan is also known by a variety of other names, including Peishan, Baishan, Hochan, Aghie, Bichbalick, Khala, and Boschan.

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: strombolian
Tianshan volcano eruptions: 650 AD ± 50 years, 50 AD ± 50 years

Latest nearby earthquakes

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Tue, 15 Jun 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
15 Jun 12:48 pm (GMT +8) (15 Jun 2021 04:48:24 GMT)
4.3

10 km
33 km (21 mi)
98 km south of Xinyuan, Xinjiang, China
Mon, 14 Jun 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
15 Jun 12:23 am (GMT +8) (14 Jun 2021 16:23:14 GMT)
4.7

10 km
30 km (19 mi)
83 km northwest of Kucha, Xinjiang, China
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
12 Jun 2021 15:58:18 GMT
3.3

10 km
15 km (9.3 mi)
116 km southwest of Xinyuan, Xinjiang, China
12 Jun 9:47 am (GMT +8) (12 Jun 2021 01:47:55 GMT)
4.9

10 km
30 km (19 mi)
83 km northwest of Kucha, Xinjiang, China
Wed, 9 Jun 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Jun 4:35 pm (GMT +8) (9 Jun 2021 08:35:35 GMT)
4.4

10 km
43 km (27 mi)
54 km northwest of Kucha, Xinjiang, China

Background

Further reading:
Whitford-Stark J L (1987) "A survey of Cenozoic volcanism on mainland Asia." Geol Soc Amer Spec Pap, v. 213, pp 1-74


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Show more
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.