Get our newsletter!
Zu den weltweiten Vulkanreisen von Volcano-Adventures!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Garantierte Reisen:
26. Sep - 1. Okt 2018: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
26. Sep - 10. Okt 2018: Feuerberge der Südsee - Vanuatu (Südsee)
30. Sep - 7. Okt 2018: Faszination Vulkan - Santorin (Griechenland)
30. Sep - 10. Okt 2018: Die Vulkane von Ambrym - die große Durchquerung - Vanuatu
6.-13. Okt 2018: Perle der Ägäis - Santorin - Santorin (Griechenland)
12.-17. Okt 2018: Krakatau Vulkanspezialreise - Krakatau Vulkan, Sunda Strasse
13.-20. Okt 2018: Mandeln, Oliven und Vulkane - Nisyros (Griechenland)
13.-29. Nov 2018: Volcano Special: Ibu - Dukono - Lokon - Halmahera (Indonesia)
17.-30. Nov 2018: Wüste, Salz und Vulkane - Danakilwüste Äthiopien)
8.-21. Dez 2018: Wüste, Salz und Vulkane - Danakilwüste Äthiopien)
: Plätze frei / : garantiert / : Wenig freie Plätze / : Ausgebucht
Zufallsfotos
Samstag, Jun 04, 2016
The activity at the caldera (seismicity, deformation, degassing etc) remains at normal levels. Despite continuing rumors and fear-mongering media (unsupported by facts), there is currently no sign to believe that the so-called "supervolcano" is about to erupt violently anytime soon. ... [mehr]
The recent earthquakes at Yellowstone
Montag, Mär 31, 2014
A magnitude 4.8 earthquake at shallow 7 km depth occurred yesterday morning with an epicenter located 4 miles north-northeast of Norris Geyser Basin in Yellowstone National Park. It was the largest quake since 1980 and occurred near the center of a region of recent ground uplift. ... [mehr]
 

Yellowstone Vulkan

Super-Volcano, calderas 2805 m / 9,203 feet
Wyoming, USA, 44.43°N / -110.67°W
Aktueller Status: ruhend (1 von 5)
Yellowstone Webcams / aktuelle Daten | Reports
Yellowstone Vulkan-B cher | Hotels und Unterkünfte
Last update: 30 Jan 2018 (normal seismic and deformation activity)
Typische Aktivität: explosive
Ausbrüche des Yellowstone: 1350 BC ± 200 years
caldera-forming eruptions 70,000 BP, 160,000 BP, and 640,000 years ago (BP)
UhrzeitMag. / TiefeDistanceOrt
Wed, 19 Sep
Wed, 19 Sep 14:44 UTCM 1.7 / 6.4 km12 km- 24km ESE of Old Faithful Geyser, Wyoming
Tue, 18 Sep
Tue, 18 Sep 09:18 UTCM 0.5 / 6.1 km17 km- 14km NNE of Old Faithful Geyser, Wyoming
Tue, 18 Sep 09:08 UTCM 0.9 / 8.3 km18 km- 15km NNE of Old Faithful Geyser, Wyoming
Mon, 17 Sep
Mon, 17 Sep 02:31 UTCM 0.6 / 10.4 km53 km- 15km N of West Yellowstone, Montana
Sun, 16 Sep
Sun, 16 Sep 19:51 UTCM 1.7 / 13.3 km36 km- 14km S of West Yellowstone, Montana
Alle anzeigen
Yellowstone ist eine der größten bekannten Vulkane der Welt und die größten vulkanischen System in Nordamerika. Der Vulkan ist über einen Hotspot Intra-Platte gefunden, die die Magmakammer unterhalb Yellowstone für mindestens 2 Millionen Jahre gefüttert wurde.
Die gigantische Caldera ist das Produkt der großen Zusammenbruch der Erdkruste nach 3 so genannte Ultra-plinianische oder Super-volcano Eruptionen - explosive Großveranstaltungen, die mehrere hundert zu einigen tausend Kubikmeter km Magma ausbrechen. Diese Eruptionen fanden 2.1, 1.3 und 0.64 Millionen Jahren.
Yellowstone ist auch das weltweit größte hydrothermalen System. Es enthält 182 Geysire, Schlamm Pools und Fumarolen. Die berühmteste Funktion im Yellowstone ist Old Faithful Geysir.

Zukünftige Super-volcano Eruptionen im Yellowstone?
Yellowstone der Magmakammer ist vermutlich noch aktiv sein und enthalten mindestens 15.000 Kubikmeter km der Schmelze.
Es kann nicht ausgeschlossen, noch vorhergesagt, dass eine andere Super-volcano Eruption am Yellowstone künftig einige (geologische es wird).
In den letzten Jahren die Caldera studiert worden und wird stärker überwacht. In den letzten Jahren hat Yellowstone Unruhen in Form von Verformung, Boden Anhebung, Temperaturschwankungen und seismische Schwärme, zeigt alle mit großem Interesse und steigende Besorgnis befolgt wurden. 70 kleine Erdbeben Schwärme wurden am Yellowstone Vulkan zwischen 1983 und 2006 aufgenommen. Auf der anderen Seite, ist diese Aktivität wahrscheinlich ganz normal, dass eine große ruhenden Super-volcano.
Trotz der Unruhen, gibt es derzeit keinen Grund zu glauben, dass diese Grundstoffe zu einem anderen großen Super-volcano Ausbruch in der näheren Zukunft geschehen (Jahre bis Jahrzehnte). Wahrscheinlicher ist, sind diese normalen Aktivitäten in ruhenden Stadien der aktiven vulkanischen Großanlagen. Darüber hinaus können die meisten der Aktivität der hydrothermalen System, anstatt die Magmakammer selbst zusammenhängen.
Statistisch gesehen, obwohl das Intervall der Zeit seit dem letzten verfallen ähnelt solchen Ausbruch die Intervalle Trennung der Vergangenheit 3 Eruptionen, statistische Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass ein solches Ereignis sich in den nächsten 100 Jahren wiederholt wird ist sehr gering. Leider haben die meisten Medienberichte in den letzten Jahren dieses Risiko stark übertrieben worden.

Beschreibung:

Der Yellowstone-Plateau bis 3 vulkanischen Zyklen über 2.000.000 Jahre, dass einige der weltweit größten bekannten Eruptionen enthalten entwickelt. Eruption des> 2450 km3 Huckleberry Ridge Tuff über 2.100.000 Jahre vor den mehr als 75-km-langen Island Park Caldera geschaffen.
Der zweite Zyklus endete mit dem Ausbruch der Mesa Falls Tuff rund 1.300.000 Jahre vor Bildung des 16-km-breite Henrys Fork Caldera am westlichen Ende des ersten Caldera.
Activity dann bis zur Gegenwart Yellowstone Plateau verschoben und 640.000 Jahren mit dem Ausbruch des> 1000 cu km Lava Creek Tuff und die Bildung der Gegenwart 45 x 85 km Caldera gipfelte.
Resurgent Doming anschließend sowohl an der NE-und SW-Seiten auf die Caldera und voluminösen (1000 km3) intra-Caldera rhyolitischen Lavaströme zwischen 150.000 und 70.000 Jahren waren ausgebrochen aufgetreten.
Keine magmatischen Eruptionen sind seit dem Ende der Eiszeit, aber große hydrothermale Eruptionen fanden in der Nähe Yellowstone Lake im Holozän.


Im Januar-Februar 2010 die zweitgrößte aufgezeichneten Erdbeben Schwarm wurde in Yellowstone aufgezeichnet, mit über 1800 Beben, die größten Stärke 3,8 und war in den Park und die Umgebung. USGS Wissenschaftler glauben, dass die meisten Erdbeben tektonischen Ursprungs durch regionale Erweiterung verursacht wurden, während andere durch geothermische Aktivität verursacht wurden.


Zwischen 26 und 31 Dezember 3008, ein Erdbeben Schwarm mit über 250 Veranstaltungen aufgetreten ist unter Yellowstone Lake, drei bis sechs Kilometer südöstlich der Fischerei Bridge. Das größte Erdbeben war eine Größenordnung 3,9 10:15 pm MST am 27 Dezember. 9 Erdbeben gemessen zwischen 24 zwischen M2.9 M2, M3 und M3.9. Einige der Beben waren im Yellowstone-Nationalpark zu spüren.


Änderungen in Norris Geyser Basin wurden in 2003 und Wanderwege wurden geschlossen, als Safetyl Maßnahmen. Neue Fumarolen wurden beobachtet und einige Geysire hatte erhöhte Temperaturen.


Yellowstone National Park ist bekannt für seine Geysire, bunten Federn und malerischen Landschaft:
Old Faithful-Bereich
Eigenschaften umfassen oberen Geyser Basin, unteren Geysir-Becken, Midway Geyser Basin, Lone Star Geyser Basin, Shoshone Geyser Basin, Craig Pass/Isa-See und viele Wasserfälle.
Norris-Geysir-Becken
Diesem Bereich hat die heißesten geothermischen Entlüftungsöffnungen Yellowstone. Eigenschaften umfassen Roaring Mountain, Gibbon River (Virginia) Kaskaden und Norris-Canyon Druckentlastung.
Mammut Thermalbad
Erstellt von heißen Quellen fließen bis durch Kalkstein Travertin-Terrassen. Kohlenwasserstoff-Ionen kombinieren mit Kalzium zu Niederschlag als Travertin. Merkmale der Umgebung gehören Gardner River Canyon, Boiling River, Mt. Everts und Bunsen Peak.
Madison-Area
Interessante Merkmale der bunten See Künstler malen Töpfe, Gibbon Falls, Denkmal Geyser Basin, Madison River, Terrasse Springs, Firehole River, Firehole Canyon Drive und Firehole Falls.
Andere interessante Park Einrichtungen
Yellowstone Lake, Abgrund Pool, Fischerei-Kegel, Isa See, Heart Lake, DeLacy Creek, Factory Hill, Lewis River, rot Berge, Rätsel Lake, Shoshone Lake, Snake River, Schlamm-Volcano/Schwefel-Kessel, Hayden und Pelican Täler, Natural Bridge, Grand Canyon der Yellowstone, Mount Washburn, Tower Fall und Calcit Springs.

Letzte Satellitenbilder

 

Mehr auf VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery und andere Quellen wie angegeben.
Verwendung von Bildern: Text und Fotos auf dieser Webseite sind urheberrechtlich geschützt. Weitere Verwendung und Kopieren ohne vorherige Genehmigung ist untersagt. Wenn Sie Fotos für private oder gewerbliche Zwecke nutzen wollen, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte.

VolcanoDiscovery's start page
-Contact | subscribe || Français | Deutsch
edit translation
Follow us:
The recent earthquakes at Yellowstone
Monday, Mar 31, 2014
A magnitude 4.8 earthquake at shallow 7 km depth occurred yesterday morning with an epicenter located 4 miles north-northeast of Norris Geyser Basin in Yellowstone National Park. It was the largest quake since 1980 and occurred near the center of a region of recent ground uplift. ... [more]
Friday, Aug 02, 2013
The famous Steamboat Geyser erupted again during the past night breaking a 8 years period of dormancy. Known as the currently largest geyser in the world, its jets are known to reach up to 90 m height. ... [more]

Yellowstone volcano

super-volcano, calderas 2805 m / 9,203 feet
Wyoming, USA, 44.43°N / -110.67°W
Current status: dormant (1 out of 5)
Yellowstone webcams / live data
Last update: 31 Mar 2014
Typical eruption style: explosive
Yellowstone volcano eruptions: 1350 BC ± 200 years
caldera-forming eruptions 70,000 BP, 160,000 BP, and 640,000 years ago (BP)
Last earthquakes nearby:
TimeMag. / DepthDistanceLocation
Tue, 15 Apr
Tue, 15 Apr 01:10 UTCM 1.3 / 2.7 km9 km16km SE of Old Faithful Geyser, Wyoming
Tue, 15 Apr 01:09 UTCM 0.8 / 2.2 km8 km16km SE of Old Faithful Geyser, Wyoming
Mon, 14 Apr
Mon, 14 Apr 16:54 UTCM 1.0 / 5.8 km48 km14km NNE of West Yellowstone, Montana
Fri, 11 Apr
Fri, 11 Apr 17:01 UTCM 2.0 / 4.4 km45 km32km NE of West Yellowstone, Montana
Fri, 11 Apr 15:42 UTCM 1.3 / 9.2 km37 km27km ENE of West Yellowstone, Montana
View all recent quakes
Yellowstone is one of the largest known volcanoes in the world and the largest volcanic system in North America. The volcano is found above an intra-plate hot spot that has been feeding the magma chamber underneath Yellowstone for at least 2 million years.
The giant caldera is the product of large-scale collapse of the crust after 3 so-called ultra-Plinian or super-volcano eruptions - large explosive events that erupt several hundreds to few thousands of cubic km of magma. These eruptions took place 2.1, 1.3 and 0.64 million years ago.
Yellowstone is also the world's largest hydrothermal system. It contains 182 geysers, mud pools and fumaroles. The most famous feature in Yellowstone is Old Faithful Geyser.

Future super-volcano eruptions at Yellowstone?
Yellowstone's magma chamber is believed to be still active and contain at least 15,000 cubic km of melt.
It cannot be ruled out, nor predicted that there will be another super-volcano eruption at Yellowstone in some (geologic) future.
In recent years, the caldera has been studied and is being monitored more closely. In recent years, Yellowstone has been showing unrest in the form of deformation, ground uplift, temperature changes, and seismic swarms, all of which have been followed with great interest and rising some concern. 70 small earthquake swarms were recorded at Yellowstone volcano between 1983 and 2006. On the other hand, such activity is probably entirely normal for a large dormant super-volcano.
Despite the unrest, there is currently no reason to believe that these are precursors to another large super-volcano eruption to happen in the nearer future (years to decades). More likely, these are normal activities in dormant stages of large active volcanic systems. In addition, most of the activity can be related to the hydrothermal system rather than the magma chamber itself.
Statistically, even though the interval of time lapsed since the last such eruption is similar to the intervals separating the past 3 eruptions, statistical likelihood that such an event will repeat itself in the next few 100 years is very low. Unfortunately, most media reports in recent years have been exaggerating this risk greatly.

Background:

The Yellowstone Plateau developed through 3 volcanic cycles over 2 million years that included some of the world's largest known eruptions. Eruption of the >2450 km3 Huckleberry Ridge Tuff about 2.1 million years ago created the more than 75-km-long Island Park caldera.
The second cycle concluded with the eruption of the Mesa Falls Tuff around 1.3 million years ago, forming the 16-km-wide Henrys Fork caldera at the western end of the first caldera.
Activity then shifted to the present Yellowstone Plateau and culminated 640,000 years ago with the eruption of the >1000 cu km Lava Creek Tuff and the formation of the present 45 x 85 km caldera.
Resurgent doming subsequently occurred at both the NE and SW sides of the caldera and voluminous (1000 km3) intra-caldera rhyolitic lava flows were erupted between 150,000 and 70,000 years ago.
No magmatic eruptions have occurred since the end of the Ice Age, but large hydrothermal eruptions took place near Yellowstone Lake during the Holocene.

2010 seismic unrest
In January-February 2010 the second largest recorded earthquake swarm was recorded at Yellowstone, with over 1800 tremors, the largest being magnitude 3.8 and felt in the park and surroundings. USGS scientists believe that most of the earthquakes were tectonic in origin caused by regional extension, while others were caused by geothermal activity.

2008 unrest
Between 26 and 31 December 3008, an earthquake swarm with over 250 events occurred under Yellowstone Lake, three to six miles south-southeast of Fishing Bridge. The largest earthquake was a magnitude 3.9 at 10:15 pm MST on 27 December. 9 earthquakes measured between M3 and M3.9 and 24 between M2 to M2.9. Some of the quakes were felt in Yellowstone National park.

2003 unrest
Changes in Norris Geyser Basin were observed in 2003 and hiking trails were closed as safetyl measures. New fumaroles were observed and some geysers had elevated temperatures.

Prominent features at Yellowstone
Yellowstone National Park is well known for its geysers, colorful springs and scenic landscapes:
Old Faithful Area
Features include Upper Geyser Basin, Lower Geyser Basin, Midway Geyser Basin, Lone Star Geyser Basin, Shoshone Geyser Basin, Craig Pass/Isa Lake, and many waterfalls.
Norris Geyser Basin
This area has the hottest geothermal vents at Yellowstone. Features include Roaring Mountain, Gibbon River, Virginia Cascades, and Norris-Canyon Blowdown.
Mammoth Hot Springs
Travertine terraces created by hot springs flowing up through limestone. Hydrocarbon ions combine with calcium to precipitate as travertine. Features of the area include Gardner River Canyon, Boiling River, Mt. Everts, and Bunsen Peak.
Madison Area
Interesting features include the colorful lake Artist Paint Pots, Gibbon Falls, Monument Geyser Basin, Madison River, Terrace Springs, Firehole River, Firehole Canyon Drive and Firehole Falls.
Other Interesting Park Features
Yellowstone Lake, Abyss Pool, Fishing Cone, Isa Lake, Heart Lake, DeLacy Creek, Factory Hill, Lewis River, Red Mountains, Riddle Lake, Shoshone Lake, Snake River, Mud Volcano/Sulphur Caldron, Hayden and Pelican Valleys, Natural Bridge, Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone, Mt. Washburn, Tower Fall, and Calcite Springs.

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Comments:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.