Bobrof volcano

Stratovolcano 738 m / 2,421 ft
United States, Aleutian Islands, 51.91°N / -177.44°W
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: unspecified
Bobrof volcano eruptions: unknown, no recent eruptions

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Thursday, September 16, 2021 02:52 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 15, 2021 5:52 pm (GMT -9) (Sep 16, 2021 02:52 GMT)
1.5

23 km
49 km (30 mi)
65 Km SW of Adak, Alaska
Tuesday, September 14, 2021 16:35 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 14, 2021 7:35 am (GMT -9) (Sep 14, 2021 16:35 GMT)
1.5

3.6 km
27 km (17 mi)
81 Km W of Adak, Alaska
Monday, September 13, 2021 15:47 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 13, 2021 6:47 am (GMT -9) (Sep 13, 2021 15:47 GMT)
0.7

7.8 km
26 km (16 mi)
81 Km W of Adak, Alaska
Sep 13, 2021 6:15 am (GMT -9) (Sep 13, 2021 15:15 GMT)
0.7

14 km
26 km (16 mi)
70 Km WSW of Adak, Alaska
Sep 13, 2021 3:35 am (GMT -9) (Sep 13, 2021 12:35 GMT)
1.8

7.5 km
26 km (16 mi)
80 Km W of Adak, Alaska

Background

The geology and timing of volcanism on this small uninhabited 3 x 4 km island, located in the Andreanof islands 50 km west of Adak and 15 km west of Kanaga volcano, are unknown (Coats, 1956). Apparent deposits of a massive submarine debris-avalanche deposit extend offshore to the NE. Smith et al. (1978) considered Bobrof to be of possible Holocene age. Andesitic pyroclastic-flow deposits are present on the 738-m-high volcano.
---
Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Show more
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.