Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 3, 2022 06:48 GMT -

Search!

Latest 20 quakes above magnitude 3 in the world

Updated: Dec 3, 2022 06:48 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 44 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 113 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 258 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 578 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, there were 2 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 44 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 113 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 258 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 578 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A moderate magnitude 4.9 earthquake occurred in South Atlantic Ocean, South Georgia & South Sandwich Islands, 3 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 4.6 | Tibet, China -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.9 | South Atlantic Ocean, South Georgia & South Sandwich Islands -

Recent quakes above magnitude 3.0 worldwide (updated )

Past 24 hours159 quakes113 quakes M3+44 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+
Strongest quake: Mag. 5.7 on Friday, Dec 2, 2022 at 12:35 pm (GMT +0)South Atlantic Ocean, Bouvet Island
Past 7 days1,128 quakes802 quakes M3+288 quakes M4+38 quakes M5+
Past 30 days4,836 quakes3,385 quakes M3+1,264 quakes M4+172 quakes M5+11 quakes M6+4 quakes M7+
Past 90 days16,209 quakes11,723 quakes M3+4,002 quakes M4+442 quakes M5+35 quakes M6+7 quakes M7+
Past 365 days64,202 quakes46,611 quakes M3+15,698 quakes M4+1,752 quakes M5+128 quakes M6+13 quakes M7+
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 3.6 or higher (20 out of 995 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, December 3, 2022 GMT (20 quakes)
Dec 3, 2022 06:24 GMT
Dec 3, 2022 2:24 pm (GMT +8)
4.6

10 km
Tibet, China
I FELT IT
More
Dec 3, 2022 05:43 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 11:43 pm (GMT -6)
4.3

5 km
North Pacific Ocean, 68 km south of La Loma, Coahuayana, Michoacan, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Dec 3, 2022 05:23 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 11:23 pm (GMT -6)
4.1

5 km
North Pacific Ocean, 60 km south of Aquila, Michoacan, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Dec 3, 2022 05:22 GMT
Dec 3, 2022 2:22 pm (GMT +9)
3.6

10 km
Molucca Sea, 138 km northwest of Ternate, North Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 3, 2022 05:08 GMT
Dec 3, 2022 1:08 pm (GMT +8)
4.1

10 km
Indian Ocean, 128 km southeast of Sumbawa Besar, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 3, 2022 05:08 GMT
Dec 3, 2022 8:38 am (GMT +3:30)
3.7

10 km
67 km north of Bāfq, Bafgh, Yazd Province, Iran
I FELT IT
More
Dec 3, 2022 04:59 GMT
Dec 3, 2022 7:59 am (GMT +3)
4.1

2 km
18 km west of Düzce, Turkey
I FELT IT - 8 reports
More
Dec 3, 2022 04:57 GMT
Dec 3, 2022 11:57 am (GMT +7)
3.6

10 km
Russia, 120 km northwest of Ölgii, Ulgii, Bayan-Ölgiy Aymag, Mongolia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 3, 2022 04:53 GMT
Dec 3, 2022 11:53 am (GMT +7)
4.5

10 km
47 km northeast of Kiselëvsk, Kemerovo Oblast, Russia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 3, 2022 04:36 GMT
Dec 3, 2022 5:36 pm (GMT +13)
4.8

35 km
South Pacific Ocean, 214 km southwest of Nukalofa, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu
I FELT IT
More
Dec 3, 2022 04:27 GMT
Dec 3, 2022 10:57 am (GMT +6:30)
3.6

30 km
Sagaing Region, 137 km west of Bhamo, Kachin State, Myanmar (Burma)
I FELT IT
More
Dec 3, 2022 04:19 GMT
Dec 3, 2022 1:19 am (GMT -3)
4.1

78 km
13 km north of Illapel, Provincia de Choapa, Coquimbo Region, Chile
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Dec 3, 2022 03:34 GMT
Dec 3, 2022 1:34 am (GMT -2)
4.9

31 km
South Atlantic Ocean, South Georgia & South Sandwich Islands
I FELT IT
More
Dec 3, 2022 02:59 GMT
Dec 3, 2022 7:29 am (GMT +4:30)
4.4

102 km
Badakhshan, Afghanistan, 20 km southwest of Ishqoshim, Tajikistan
I FELT IT
More
Dec 3, 2022 02:19 GMT
Dec 3, 2022 10:19 am (GMT +8)
4.4

495 km
Celebes Sea, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 3, 2022 01:59 GMT
Dec 3, 2022 10:59 am (GMT +9)
3.8

10 km
143 km west of Hollandia, Papua, Indonesia
I FELT IT
More
Dec 3, 2022 01:40 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 7:40 pm (GMT -6)
4.1

196 km
5.6 km west of San Jose, Upala, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Dec 3, 2022 01:21 GMT
Dec 3, 2022 5:51 am (GMT +4:30)
4.5

94 km
44 km north of Assad-Abad, Asadābād, Kunar, Afghanistan
I FELT IT
More
Dec 3, 2022 01:04 GMT
Dec 3, 2022 9:04 am (GMT +8)
3.7

10 km
Kazakhstan, 133 km northeast of Ciudad de Aksu, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
More
Dec 3, 2022 00:40 GMT
Dec 2, 2022 9:40 pm (GMT -3)
4.5

178 km
173 km west of Jujuy, Departamento de Doctor Manuel Belgrano, Jujuy, Argentina
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.2 x 1012 joules (1.45 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1250 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake statistics

Has seismic activity increased or decreased? Check the Quake-O-Meter!
Number of earthquakes over time:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes over time
Show more

Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 24 hrs Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 7 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy over magnitude past 30 days Magnitudes of quakes and energy over time past 30 days
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings