Cabalian volcano

stratovolcano 945 m / 3,100 feet
Zentral-Philippinen, Philippines, 10.29°N / 125.22°E
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)

Mount Cabalían volcano is located on the SE tip of Leyte Island, Philippines. It is is an andesitic stratovolcano with steep radial erosion valleys and ridges that are moderately to thickly vegetated.
It contains a summit crater filled by a lake. The crater rim is irregular and forms 2 peaks on the S side. A recent pyroclastic flow deposit was radiocarbon dated to be only about 150 years old. Hot springs with temperatures of up to 64 deg C are found on the east and west flanks of Cabalían.

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: explosive
Cabalian volcano eruptions: 1820 AD ± 30 years (radiocarbon dated)

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Thursday, September 23, 2021 16:46 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 24, 2021 12:46 am (GMT +8) (Sep 23, 2021 16:46 GMT)
2.5

192 km
37 km (23 mi)
Philippine Sea, 27 km northwest of Surigao City, Philippines
Saturday, September 18, 2021 12:57 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 18, 2021 8:57 pm (GMT +8) (Sep 18, 2021 12:57 GMT)
2.7

1 km
8.7 km (5.4 mi)
0.9 km north of Hinundayan, Southern Leyte, Eastern Visayas, Philippines
Friday, September 17, 2021 08:53 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 17, 2021 4:53 pm (GMT +8) (Sep 17, 2021 08:53 GMT)
2.5

1 km
45 km (28 mi)
Philippine Sea, 23 km east of Abuyog, Leyte, Eastern Visayas, Philippines
Thursday, September 16, 2021 03:03 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 16, 2021 11:03 am (GMT +8) (Sep 16, 2021 03:03 GMT)
2.4

9 km
3.7 km (2.3 mi)
4.9 km southwest of Hinundayan, Southern Leyte, Eastern Visayas, Philippines
Tuesday, September 14, 2021 17:05 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 15, 2021 1:05 am (GMT +8) (Sep 14, 2021 17:05 GMT)
2.8

4 km
10.4 km (6.5 mi)
Philippine Sea, 3.3 km east of Hinundayan, Philippines



See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Show more
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.