Chaîne des Puys volcano

Lava dome(s), Pyroclastic cone(s), Maar(s) 1464 m / 4802 ft
Massif Central, France, 45.78°N / 2.97°E
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)

The Chaîne des Puys in the Massif Central of southern France is one of Europe's youngest volcanic fields. It consists of numerous cinder cones and maars roughly arranged on a N-S trending line. The last activity occurred only about 6000 years ago, which is why the volcanoes should be considered still active although there are no signs at present of any new activity to be expected in any near future.

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: explosive, monogenetic
Chaîne des Puys volcano eruptions: approx. 6000 years ago near Besse-en-Chandesse

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Monday, October 25, 2021 18:03 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 25, 2021 8:03 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 25, 2021 18:03 GMT)
1.7

14 km
25 km (16 mi)
31 km northwest of Clermont-Ferrand, Puy-de-Dôme, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 22:12 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 20, 2021 12:12 am (GMT +2) (Oct 19, 2021 22:12 GMT)
1.0

18 km
25 km (16 mi)
France: Near Clermont-Ferrand
Friday, October 15, 2021 08:50 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 15, 2021 10:50 am (GMT +2) (Oct 15, 2021 08:50 GMT)
1.3
37 km (23 mi)
43 km southwest of Clermont-Ferrand, Puy-de-Dôme, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France
Oct 15, 2021 10:19 am (GMT +2) (Oct 15, 2021 08:19 GMT)
1.3
46 km (29 mi)
France: Near Cournon-d'Auvergne (quarry Blast)
Wednesday, October 13, 2021 01:00 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 13, 2021 3:00 am (GMT +2) (Oct 13, 2021 01:00 GMT)
0.8

18 km
25 km (16 mi)
France: Near Clermont-Ferrand

Background

The Chaîne des Puys form a N-S-trending chain of basaltic and trachytic cinder cones, basaltic maars, and trachytic lava domes in France's Massif Central that has been active into the Holocene.
Construction of the present-day Chaîne des Puys began about 70,000 years before present (BP), and was largely completed by the beginning of the Holocene. Holocene eruptions constructed lava domes such as the Puy de Dôme, whose growth was accompanied by pyroclastic flows, cinder cones that fed lengthy lava flows, and maars. The latest well-documented activity took place about 6000 BP near Besse-en-Chandesse and included the powerful explosions that formed the Lac Pavin maar.
The dating of younger tephras has not yet been confirmed, and reports of historical eruptions as late as 1000 BP have been discredited.


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Show more
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.