Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 May 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
News

No news in this list.

 

Kaguyak volcano

Lava domes 901 m / 2,956 ft
United States, Alaska Peninsula, 58.61°N / -154.03°W
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5) | Reports
Kaguyak volcano books
Typical eruption style: unspecified
Kaguyak volcano eruptions: 3850 BC (?) 
TimeMag. / DepthDistanceLocation
Thu, 22 Oct 2020 (UTC)
22 Oct 8:01 am (GMT -8) (22 Oct 16:01:39 UTC)M 2.5 / 81.7 km12 km79 Km NW of Aleneva, Alaska, USA
Sun, 11 Oct 2020 (UTC)
11 Oct 3:08 pm (GMT -8) (11 Oct 23:08:38 UTC)M 0.5 / 13.2 km12 km88 Km NW of Aleneva, Alaska, USA
Wed, 7 Oct 2020 (UTC)
7 Oct 12:44 am (GMT -8) (7 Oct 08:44:04 UTC)M 1.9 / 66.4 km23 km66 Km NW of Aleneva, Alaska, USA
Sun, 4 Oct 2020 (UTC)
4 Oct 1:49 am (GMT -8) (4 Oct 09:49:32 UTC)M 2.7 / 85.5 km5 km86 Km NW of Aleneva, Alaska, USA
Sat, 19 Sep 2020 (UTC)
Sat, 19 Sep 16:16 UTCM 1.2 / 85.9 km14 km77 Km NW of Aleneva, Alaska, USA
View all recent quakes

Background:

The small, but spectacular 2.5-km-wide Kaguyak caldera in the NE part of Katmai National Park is filled by a >180-m-deep lake whose surface lies more than 550 m below the caldera rim. Kaguyak volcano is only 901 m high, but rises directly from lowland areas near sea level south of the Big River. Initially considered to be a typical stratovolcano truncated by a caldera, the pre-caldera edifice has been shown to consist of nine continuguous late-Pleistocene lava dome clusters, most of which lie east of the present caldera. A large post-caldera lava dome extends into the lake on the SW side and another dome forms a small island in the center of the lake. The youthful caldera is unglaciated, and distal tephras from the caldera-forming eruption have been radiocarbon dated at about 5800 years before present. Voluminous dacitic pyroclastic-flow deposits surround the caldera and reached Shelikof Strait to the SE.
---
Smithsonian / GVP volcano information

Latest satellite images


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
 

More on VolcanoDiscovery

 
Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.