Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 May 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
News

No news in this list.

 

Malindang volcano

stratovolcano 2404 m / 7,887 ft
Mindanao, Philippines, 8.22°N / 123.63°E
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5) | Reports
Malindang volcano books
Typical eruption style: explosive
Malindang volcano eruptions: within the past 10,000 years
TimeMag. / DepthDistanceLocation
Mon, 26 Oct 2020 (UTC)
26 October 2020 - 03:21 PM (PST) (26 Oct 07:21:00 UTC)M 3.3 / 8 km17 km006 Km S 07° E of Concepcion (Misamis Occidental), Philippines
Thu, 10 Sep 2020 (UTC)
11 September 2020 - 01:08 AM (PST) (10 Sep 17:08:00 UTC)M 2.3 / 34 km20 km001 Km S 55° E of Tambulig (Zamboanga Del Sur) (Philippines)
11 September 2020 - 01:08 AM (PST) (10 Sep 17:08:00 UTC)M 2.3 / 51 km27 km011 Km S 83° W of Tambulig (Zamboanga Del Sur) (Philippines)
Thu, 13 Aug 2020 (UTC)
14 August 2020 - 12:48 AM (PST) (13 Aug 16:48:00 UTC)M 2.0 / 30 km23 km012 km S 26° E of Katipunan (Zamboanga Del Norte) (Philippines)
Mon, 10 Aug 2020 (UTC)
10 August 2020 - 11:24 PM (PST) (10 Aug 15:24:00 UTC)M 4.1 / 20 km27 km023 km N 23° E of Dumingag (Zamboanga Del Sur) (Philippines)
View all recent quakes
Malindang volcano is a stratovolcano on the western margin of Iligan Bay in north-central Mindanao Island, 20 km NE of Tambulig, Philippines. It is part of the Malindang National Park.

Background:

The basaltic to andesitic Malindang stratovolcano contains a small summit caldera. There are no known historic eruptions, but legends tell of a large eruption in the past.

1991 earthquake and false eruption alarm
In 1991, a tectonic earthquake coincided with rumblings from a thunderstorm on the volcano and reports about volcanic activity spread rapidly, triggering a false eruption alarm and authorities started widespread evacuations. No eruption occurred, but a previously unknown geothermal area was discovered.

Latest satellite images


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
 

More on VolcanoDiscovery

 
Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.