Get our newsletter!
Voyages aux volcans actifs !
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Départs garantis:
12-30 août 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
13-29 août 2019: Les volcans actifs de Java - Java (Indonésie)
1-19 sept. 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 sept. 2019: Du Krakatau à Bali - Java (Indonésie)
12-20 oct. 2019: Montagnes de Feu - du Stromboli à l'Etna - Eoliennes + Etna
2-18 nov. 2019: Volcans et Épices - Mer des Moluques (Sulawesi, Indonésie)
17-21 nov. 2019: Spécial Volcan Krakatau - Le Krakatau, détroit de la Sonde
9-17 mai 2020: Montagnes de Feu - du Stromboli à l'Etna - Eoliennes + Etna
: Places libres / : Départ garanti / : Quelques places disponibles / : Groupe fermé
Diaporama

Katmai volcan

Stratovolcano with central caldera 2047 m / 6716 ft
Alaska Peninsula, USA, 58.28°N / -154.95°W
Condition actuelle: normal / en sommeil (1 sur 5)
Katmai webcams / données en temps réel | Reports
Katmai livres
Last update: 2 oct. 2018
Style éruptif tipique: Explosive
Eruptions du volcan Katmai: 1912 (Plinian eruption: the largest in the 20th century!)
HeureMag. / DepthDistanceLocation
Fri, 12 Jul 2019
Fri, 12 Jul 19:46 UTCM 1.2 / 2 km5 km103km NW of Larsen Bay, Alaska (USA)
Fri, 12 Jul 03:12 UTCM 0.2 / 4.5 km6 km100km NNW of Larsen Bay, Alaska (USA)
Fri, 12 Jul 03:10 UTCM 0.1 / 7 km6 km99km NNW of Larsen Bay, Alaska (USA)
Wed, 10 Jul 2019
Wed, 10 Jul 22:18 UTCM 0.1 / 8.1 km4 km100km NNW of Larsen Bay, Alaska (USA)
Voir tous
Un grand volcan en Alaska, près de la cheminée de Novarupta, qui a éclaté en 1912 avec la plus grande éruption volcanique du XXe siècle, 10 fois la taille de l'éruption du Mont Saint Helens en 1980.

Introduction:

Katmai volcan est un grand stratovolcan environ 10 km de diamètre, avec une caldeira centrale remplis de lac dont rim est de 4,2 par 2,5 km dans la région. Le rebord de la caldeira a une hauteur maximale de 2047 m et en 1975, la surface du lac était à une altitude d'environ 1236 m. L'altitude estimée du sol de la caldeira est environ 995 m.
Le volcan est un des cinq stratovolcans près du dôme de Novarupta, qui était à l'origine de la grande éruption plinienne en 1912. L'éruption a produit des coulées pyroclastiques volumineuses et chefs comme la plus importante éruption au XXe siècle.
Une grande partie du volcan est recouvert de neige et de glace et des glaciers de vallée plusieurs partent sur les flancs et de trois glaciers provenant des murs de la caldeira supérieur sombrer dans le cratère à la Katmai lac volcan est construit sur les roches sédimentaires de l'âge Naknek Formation du Jurassique supérieur, qui sont exposés à l'ouest de la jante caldeira à une altitude de 1520 m, ainsi que du Nord et du sud-est du cratère.
(de : site Web de l'Observatoire de volcan de l'Alaska).

L'éruption du volcan Novarupta de juin 1912 altéré la zone Katmai considérablement. Violents tremblements de terre a secoué la région pendant une semaine avant la Novarupta a explosé avec force cataclysmique. D'énormes quantités de pierre ponce chaude, lumineuse et de cendres ont été éjectées de Novarupta et à proximité de fissures. Ce matériel s'écoulait sur le terrain, en détruisant toute vie sur son chemin. Les arbres pente étaient brisés au large et carbonisées par les explosions de vent chaud et de gaz. Pendant plusieurs jours ont été éjectés cendres, Pierre ponce et gaz et une brume assombri le ciel sur la majeure partie de l'hémisphère Nord. Lorsque c'était fini, plus de 40 milles carrés de Terre verte luxuriante pondent enfouis sous des dépôts volcaniques autant que de 700 pieds de profondeur. À proximité Kodiak, pendant deux jours une personne ne pouvait voir une lanterne tenue de dépendance. Les pluies acides causé vêtements se désintégrer sur les cordes à linge au lointain Vancouver, Canada. L'éruption était dix fois plus énergique que l'éruption du Mont Saint Helens en 1980. Dans les vallées du couteau Creek et la rivière de Ukak, d'innombrables petits trous et fissures développés dans les dépôts de cendres volcaniques, permettant gaz et à vapeur de l'eau chauffée souterraine de s'échapper. C'était que plus dramatique épisode volcanique d'une vallée apparemment sans nom whehn le 20e siècle a eu lieu. Robert Griggs, exploration des séquelles du volcan de la National Geographic Society en 1916, fixait observant au large de Katmai Pass partout au paysage rugissant de la vallée entaché par des milliers d'évents de vapeur. La vallée des dix mille fumeuse, Griggs baptisé.
(de: u. s. National Park Service site, géologie Fieldnotes - Katmai National Park et Preserve, en Alaska, avril 2000, affiché sur le site Web de l'ordre à: vulcan.wr.usgs.gov/Volcanoes/Alaska/description_1912_eruption_novarupta.html)


Derniers images satellite

Plus sur VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyright: VolcanoDiscovery ou autres sources indiquées.
Utilisation des documents: Les textes, les images et les vidéos de ce site internet sont protégées par copyright. Toute reproduction et tout usage sans accord préalable ne sont pas autorisés. Si vous désirez acquérir pour certains documents (photos, vidéos, textes ou autres) le droit de reproduction, d'édition et, plus généralement, de toute utilisation destinée à un usage public, qu'elle soit commerciale ou pas, vous êtes priés de nous contacter.

Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
23 Feb - 1 Mar 2020: Volcanoes of the Danakil desert - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
14-27 Mar 2020: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
4-8 May 2020: Krakatau Volcano Special - Krakatau volcano (Indonesia)
9-17 May 2020: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
11-29 Aug 2020: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-19 Sep 2020: Volcanoes of Java - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Random pictures
News
Monday, Nov 13, 2017
Volcanic Ash Advisory Center Anchorage (VAAC) issued the following report: ... [more]
Monday, Jan 28, 2013
The earthquake swarm which began early on 26 Jan has ended. [more]
 

Katmai volcano

Stratovolcano with central caldera 2047 m / 6716 ft
Alaska Peninsula, USA, 58.28°N / -154.95°W
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)
Katmai webcams / live data | Reports
Katmai volcano books
Last update: 2 Oct 2018
Typical eruption style: Explosive
Katmai volcano eruptions: 1912 (Plinian eruption: the largest in the 20th century!)
TimeMag. / DepthDistanceLocation
Mon, 20 Jan 2020
Mon, 20 Jan 12:49 UTCM 0.8 / 1.5 km4 kmAlaska Peninsula (USA)
Wed, 8 Jan 2020
Wed, 8 Jan 03:25 UTCM 1.1 / 0.8 km5 km105km ESE of King Salmon, Alaska (USA)
Sun, 5 Jan 2020
Sun, 5 Jan 06:46 UTCM 1.0 / 1.6 km8 km101km NNW of Larsen Bay, Alaska (USA)
Mon, 16 Dec 2019
Mon, 16 Dec 07:18 UTCM 0.6 / 2.2 km1 km101km NW of Larsen Bay, Alaska (USA)
Sat, 14 Dec 2019
Sat, 14 Dec 15:36 UTCM 1.8 / 1.1 km3 km98km NW of Larsen Bay, Alaska (USA)
View all recent quakes
A large stratovolcano in Alaska, near the Novarupta vent, that erupted in 1912 with the largest volcanic eruption in the 20th century, 10 times the size of the 1980 eruption of Mt. St. Helens.

Background:

Katmai volcano is a large stratovolcano about 10 km in diameter with a central lake-filled caldera whose rim is about 4.2 by 2.5 km in area. The caldera rim has a maximum elevation of 2047 m and in 1975 the lake surface was at an elevation of about 1236 m. The estimated elevation of the caldera floor is about 995 m.
The volcano is one of five stratovolcanoes near the Novarupta dome, which was the source of the large Plinian eruption in 1912. The eruption produced voluminous pyroclastic flows and counts as the largest eruption in the 20th century.
Much of the volcano is mantled by snow and ice and several valley glaciers radiate out from the flanks and three glaciers originating from the upper caldera walls descend into the crater to the lake
Katmai volcano is built on the sedimentary rocks of the Naknek Formation of Late Jurassic age, which are exposed just west of the caldera rim at an elevation of about 1520 m, as well as north and southeast of the crater.
(from: Alaska Volcano Observatory's website).

The June 1912 eruption of Novarupta Volcano altered the Katmai area dramatically. Severe earthquakes rocked the area for a week before Novarupta exploded with cataclysmic force. Enormous quantities of hot, glowing pumice and ash were ejected from Novarupta and nearby fissures. This material flowed over the terrain, destroying all life in its path. Trees up slope were snapped off and carbonized by the blasts of hot wind and gas. For several days ash, pumice, and gas were ejected and a haze darkened the sky over most of the Northern Hemisphere. When it was over, more than 40 square miles of lush green land lay buried beneath volcanic deposits as much as 700 feet deep. At nearby Kodiak, for two days a person could not see a lantern held at arm's length. Acid rain caused clothes to disintegrate on clotheslines in distant Vancouver, Canada. The eruption was ten times more forceful than the 1980 eruption of Mount St. Helens. In the valleys of Knife Creek and the Ukak River, innumerable small holes and cracks developed in the volcanic ash deposits, permitting gas and steam from the heated groundwater to escape. It was an apparently unnamed valley whehn the 20th century's most dramatic volcanic episode took place. Robert Griggs, exploring the volcano's aftermath for the National Geographic Society in 1916, stared awestruck off Katmai Pass across the valley's roaring landscape riddled by thousands of steam vents. The Valley of Ten Thousand Smokes, Griggs named it.
(from: U. S. National Park Service Website, Geology Fieldnotes - Katmai National Park and Preserve, Alaska, April 2000, posted on CVO's website at: vulcan.wr.usgs.gov/Volcanoes/Alaska/description_1912_eruption_novarupta.html)


Latest satellite images


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.