Get our newsletter!
Zu den weltweiten Vulkanreisen von Volcano-Adventures!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Garantierte Reisen:
12.-30. Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
13.-29. Aug 2019: Vulkane auf Java - Java (Indonesien)
1.-19. Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3.-18. Sep 2019: Von Krakatau bis Bali - Java (Indonesien)
21.-28. Sep 2019: Perle der Ägäis - Santorin - Santorin (Griechenland)
12.-20. Okt 2019: Feuerberge Siziliens - vom Stromboli zum Ätna - Äolische Inseln + Ätna
2.-18. Nov 2019: Volcanoes and Spices - N-Sulawesi Halmahera (Indonesien)
17.-21. Nov 2019: Krakatau Vulkanspezialreise - Krakatau Vulkan, Sunda Strasse
9.-17. Mai 2020: Feuerberge Siziliens - vom Stromboli zum Ätna - Äolische Inseln + Ätna
: Plätze frei / : garantiert / : Wenig freie Plätze / : Ausgebucht
Zufallsfotos
News
Montag, Nov 13, 2017
Volcanic Ash Advisory Center Anchorage (VAAC) issued the following report: ... [mehr]
Montag, Jan 28, 2013
The earthquake swarm which began early on 26 Jan has ended. [mehr]
 

Katmai Vulkan

Stratovolcano with central caldera 2047 m / 6716 ft
Alaska Peninsula, USA, 58.28°N / -154.95°W
Aktueller Status: normal / ruhend (1 von 5)
Katmai Webcams / aktuelle Daten | Berichte
Katmai Vulkan-B cher
Last update: 2 Okt 2018
Typische Aktivität: Explosiv
Ausbrüche des Katmai: 1912 (Plinian eruption: the largest in the 20th century!)
UhrzeitMag. / TiefeDistanceOrt
Fri, 12 Jul 2019
Fri, 12 Jul 19:46 UTCM 1.2 / 2 km5 km103km NW of Larsen Bay, Alaska (USA)
Fri, 12 Jul 03:12 UTCM 0.2 / 4.5 km6 km100km NNW of Larsen Bay, Alaska (USA)
Fri, 12 Jul 03:10 UTCM 0.1 / 7 km6 km99km NNW of Larsen Bay, Alaska (USA)
Wed, 10 Jul 2019
Wed, 10 Jul 22:18 UTCM 0.1 / 8.1 km4 km100km NNW of Larsen Bay, Alaska (USA)
Alle anzeigen
Ein großer Stratovulkan in Alaska, in der Nähe der Novarupta Schlot, brach, die 1912 mit dem größten Vulkanausbruch im 20. Jahrhundert, 10 mal so groß wie der Ausbruch des Mount St. Helens 1980.

Beschreibung:

Katmai Vulkan ist ein großer Stratovulkan etwa 10 km im Durchmesser mit einer zentralen See gefüllt Caldera deren Rim 4.2 von 2,5 km im Bereich ist. Rand der Kaldera hat eine maximale Höhe von 2047 m und 1975 wurde der See-Oberfläche auf einer Höhe von etwa 1236 m. Geschätzte Höhe der Kaldera Etage ist ca. 995 m.
Der Vulkan ist einer der fünf Stratovulkane nahe der Novarupta Dome, der die Quelle der großen plinianische Eruptionen 1912 war. Die Eruption produziert voluminöse pyroklastische Ströme und gilt als die größte Eruption im zwanzigsten Jahrhundert.
Ein Großteil der Vulkan ist von Schnee Ziesel und Tal Gletscher und Eis Strahlen aus von den Flanken und drei Gletscher aus den oberen Kaldera Wänden Abstieg in den Krater an der See Katmai baute Vulkan auf die Sedimentgesteine der Naknek Formation des Oberjura Alter, ist die westlich der Rand der Kaldera auf einer Höhe von ca. 1520 m ausgesetzt sind, sowie Nord- und südöstlich des Kraters.
(aus: Alaska Volcano Observatory Webseite).

Juni 1912 Ausbruch des Novarupta Vulkan verändert Bereich Katmai dramatisch. Schwere Erdbeben erschüttert das Gebiet für eine Woche vor Novarupta explodierte mit katastrophalen Kraft. Riesige Mengen an heißen, glühend Bimsstein und Asche wurden vom Novarupta und in der Nähe Risse ausgeworfen. Dieses Material floss über das Gelände, zerstören alles Leben in seinem Weg. Bäume oben Hang wurden aus fuhr und von den Anschlägen von heißen Wind und Gas verkohlt. Für mehrere Tage Asche, Bimsstein und Gas ausgestoßen wurden und ein Dunst verdunkelt den Himmel über den größten Teil der nördlichen Hemisphäre. Als es vorbei war, lag mehr als 40 Quadrat-Meilen der üppigen grünen Land weniger als 700 Meter tief begraben unter vulkanischen Ablagerungen. Am nahe gelegenen Kodiak konnte für zwei Tage eine Person keine Laterne at arm's Length gehalten sehen. Saurer Regen verursachte Kleidung zu zerfallen auf Wäscheleinen in entfernten Vancouver, Kanada. Die Eruption war zehn Mal mehr als der Ausbruch des Mount St. Helens 1980 kräftig. In den Tälern von Messer Creek und der Ukak River, unzählige kleine Löcher und Risse in der Vulkanasche Einlagen, entwickelt bei schönem Gas und Dampf aus dem beheizten Grundwasser zu entkommen. Es war, dass ein anscheinend unbenannte Tal Whehn 20. Jahrhundert am meisten dramatischen vulkanischen Folge stattgefunden hat. Robert Griggs, Erkundung des Vulkans Folgen für die National Geographic Society in 1916, starrte ehrfürchtig aus Katmai Pass in das Tal tosenden Landschaft von Tausenden von Dampfschlote durchsetzt. Valley Of Ten Thousand Smokes benannte Griggs.
(aus: U. S. National Park Service Website, Geologie Fieldnotes - Katmai-Nationalpark und Schutzgebiet, Alaska, April 2000, geschrieben am CVO Website unter: vulcan.wr.usgs.gov/Volcanoes/Alaska/description_1912_eruption_novarupta.html)


Letzte Satellitenbilder

 

Mehr auf VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery und andere Quellen wie angegeben.
Verwendung von Bildern: Text und Fotos auf dieser Webseite sind urheberrechtlich geschützt. Weitere Verwendung und Kopieren ohne vorherige Genehmigung ist untersagt. Wenn Sie Fotos für private oder gewerbliche Zwecke nutzen wollen, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte.

Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
2-18 Nov 2019: Volcanoes and Spices - N-Sulawesi + Halmahera (Indonesia)
17-21 Nov 2019: Krakatau Volcano Special - Krakatau volcano (Indonesia)
17-30 Nov 2019: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
9-17 May 2020: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
11-29 Aug 2020: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Random pictures
News
Monday, Nov 13, 2017
Volcanic Ash Advisory Center Anchorage (VAAC) issued the following report: ... [more]
Monday, Jan 28, 2013
The earthquake swarm which began early on 26 Jan has ended. [more]
 

Katmai volcano

Stratovolcano with central caldera 2047 m / 6716 ft
Alaska Peninsula, USA, 58.28°N / -154.95°W
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)
Katmai webcams / live data | Reports
Katmai volcano books
Last update: 2 Oct 2018
Typical eruption style: Explosive
Katmai volcano eruptions: 1912 (Plinian eruption: the largest in the 20th century!)
TimeMag. / DepthDistanceLocation
Fri, 18 Oct 2019
Fri, 18 Oct 11:15 UTCM 0.2 / 4.2 km5 km103km NW of Larsen Bay, Alaska (USA)
Fri, 18 Oct 03:10 UTCM 1.6 / 4 km1 km101km NW of Larsen Bay, Alaska (USA)
Wed, 16 Oct 2019
Wed, 16 Oct 18:51 UTCM 0.5 / 2 km2 km102km NW of Larsen Bay, Alaska (USA)
Wed, 16 Oct 13:17 UTCM 0.5 / 3 km4 km103km NW of Larsen Bay, Alaska (USA)
Wed, 16 Oct 06:22 UTCM 0.1 / 2.9 km2 km102km NW of Larsen Bay, Alaska (USA)
View all recent quakes
A large stratovolcano in Alaska, near the Novarupta vent, that erupted in 1912 with the largest volcanic eruption in the 20th century, 10 times the size of the 1980 eruption of Mt. St. Helens.

Background:

Katmai volcano is a large stratovolcano about 10 km in diameter with a central lake-filled caldera whose rim is about 4.2 by 2.5 km in area. The caldera rim has a maximum elevation of 2047 m and in 1975 the lake surface was at an elevation of about 1236 m. The estimated elevation of the caldera floor is about 995 m.
The volcano is one of five stratovolcanoes near the Novarupta dome, which was the source of the large Plinian eruption in 1912. The eruption produced voluminous pyroclastic flows and counts as the largest eruption in the 20th century.
Much of the volcano is mantled by snow and ice and several valley glaciers radiate out from the flanks and three glaciers originating from the upper caldera walls descend into the crater to the lake
Katmai volcano is built on the sedimentary rocks of the Naknek Formation of Late Jurassic age, which are exposed just west of the caldera rim at an elevation of about 1520 m, as well as north and southeast of the crater.
(from: Alaska Volcano Observatory's website).

The June 1912 eruption of Novarupta Volcano altered the Katmai area dramatically. Severe earthquakes rocked the area for a week before Novarupta exploded with cataclysmic force. Enormous quantities of hot, glowing pumice and ash were ejected from Novarupta and nearby fissures. This material flowed over the terrain, destroying all life in its path. Trees up slope were snapped off and carbonized by the blasts of hot wind and gas. For several days ash, pumice, and gas were ejected and a haze darkened the sky over most of the Northern Hemisphere. When it was over, more than 40 square miles of lush green land lay buried beneath volcanic deposits as much as 700 feet deep. At nearby Kodiak, for two days a person could not see a lantern held at arm's length. Acid rain caused clothes to disintegrate on clotheslines in distant Vancouver, Canada. The eruption was ten times more forceful than the 1980 eruption of Mount St. Helens. In the valleys of Knife Creek and the Ukak River, innumerable small holes and cracks developed in the volcanic ash deposits, permitting gas and steam from the heated groundwater to escape. It was an apparently unnamed valley whehn the 20th century's most dramatic volcanic episode took place. Robert Griggs, exploring the volcano's aftermath for the National Geographic Society in 1916, stared awestruck off Katmai Pass across the valley's roaring landscape riddled by thousands of steam vents. The Valley of Ten Thousand Smokes, Griggs named it.
(from: U. S. National Park Service Website, Geology Fieldnotes - Katmai National Park and Preserve, Alaska, April 2000, posted on CVO's website at: vulcan.wr.usgs.gov/Volcanoes/Alaska/description_1912_eruption_novarupta.html)


Latest satellite images


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.