Get our newsletter!
Zu den weltweiten Vulkanreisen von Volcano-Adventures!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Garantierte Reisen:
9.-22. Feb 2019: Wüste, Salz und Vulkane - Danakilwüste (Äthiopien)
2.-17. Mai 2019: Von Krakatau bis Bali - Java (Indonesien)
4.-11.(12.) Mai 2019: Faszination Vulkan - Santorin (Griechenland)
4.-12. Mai 2019: Feuerberge Siziliens - vom Stromboli zum Ätna - Äolische Inseln + Ätna
11.-19. Mai 2019: Feuerberge Siziliens - vom Stromboli zum Ätna - Äolische Inseln + Ätna
7.-12. Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
8.-16. Jun 2019: Feuerberge Siziliens - vom Stromboli zum Ätna - Äolische Inseln + Ätna
14.-30. Jun 2019: Volcanoes and Spices - N-Sulawesi Halmahera (Indonesien)
8.-23. Jul 2019: Von Krakatau bis Bali - Java (Indonesien)
13.-29. Aug 2019: Volcanoes and Spices - N-Sulawesi Halmahera (Indonesien)
: Plätze frei / : garantiert / : Wenig freie Plätze / : Ausgebucht
Zufallsfotos
News

Keine News in dieser Ansicht.

 

Oshima Vulkan

Schichtvulkan 764 m / 2,507 ft
Izu Islands, Japan, 34.72°N / 139.4°E
Aktueller Status: normal / ruhend (1 von 5) | Berichte
Oshima Vulkan-B cher
Typische Aktivität: strombolian, effusive
Ausbrüche des Oshima: 1990, 1987-88, 1986, 1974, 1971, 1970, 1970, 1969, 1968, 1968, 1967, 1965-66, 1962-65, 1961(?), 1959-60, 1959, 1958, 1957, 1956, 1956(?), 1953-54, 1950-51, 1940, 1939, 1939, 1938, 1937, 1935, 1934, 1934(?), 1933, 1928, 1922-23, 1920(?), 1919, 1915, 1914, 1912-13, 1910, 1876-77, 1870, 1868?, 1846, 1837-38, 1827, 1822-24, 1803, 1792, 1789, 1783-86, 1777-79, 1695, 1684-90, 1636-38, 1612-13, 1600-01, 1588, 1552, 1527, 1442, 1421, 1416, 1415, 1338, 1267, 1112, 936, 886, 854(?), 751, 684(?), 681(?), 680(?), 654, 630, 605 No recent earthquakes
UhrzeitMag. / TiefeDistanceOrt
Oshima Vulkan (伊豆 大 岛 Izu-Oshima) ist die nördlichste der Izu-Inseln Japan, und einer der weltweit aktivsten Vulkane. Es ist eine meist untergetaucht stratovolcano, dass ein 11 x 13 km Insel bildet.
Oshima bricht sehr häufig, im Durchschnitt alle 1-3 Jahre, aber seit 1990 still, was eine ungewöhnlich lange Pause im Vergleich zu ihrer Tätigkeit in historischen Zeiten.
Eruptionen am Vulkan Oshima auftreten von beiden Gipfel und Flanke Öffnungen und ihre Laven sind relativ flüssig. Die Eruptionen erzeugen oft Lavafontänen, strombolianische Aktivität, Lavaströme und die Bildung von Lava Seen.

Beschreibung:

von Smithsonian / GVP Vulkan Informationen:
OSHIMA Vulkan in der Sagami-Bucht östlich der Halbinsel Izu ist das nördlichste der Izu-Inseln. Der Breite, niedrige Stratovulkan bildet eine 11 x 13 km-Insel und über die Reste der drei zergliederten Stratovulkane gebaut wurde. Es ist von einer 4 km Breite Caldera mit ein zentrales Konus, Mihara-Yama, begrenzt, die die Website von zahlreichen historischen Eruptionen wurde. Mehr als 40 Nebenkegel befinden sich in der Caldera und zusammen zwei parallele Rift-Zonen verlaufenden NNW-SSE. Zwar Oshima dominant basaltischen Vulkan, ist stark explosive Tätigkeit in Intervallen von 100-150 Jahren in den letzten tausend Jahren aufgetreten. Historische Aktivität bei Oshima stammt aus dem Jahrhundert.

Oshima Fotos:




Ein großer Ausbruch von Izu-Oshima Vulkans im Jahr 1986 produziert spektakuläre Lavafontänen bis zu 1600 m Höhe und einem 16-km-hoch subplinian Eruptionssäule. Mehr als 12.000 Personen wurden von der Insel evakuiert.
Hohe Lavafontänen:
Der 1968 Oshima Lavafontäne ist der zweithöchste jemals (fotografisch) aufgezeichnet Lavafontäne aus einem Vulkan. Die höchste ist die 1500-2000 m hohe Lavafontäne aus der Voragine auf den Ätna, auf 4 September 1999, die dritte der von 1000 bis 1200 m hoch Lavafontäne aus Ätna SE Krater während des Anfalls auf 23. Mai 2000.
Zum Vergleich wurden die höchsten Lavafontänen auf Hawaii beobachtet ca. 590 m hoch aus Kilauea Iki auf 21 November 1959. Die specacular Lavafontänen von Pu'u O'o während 1983-85 erreicht bis zu 500 m.

Letzte Satellitenbilder

 

Mehr auf VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery und andere Quellen wie angegeben.
Verwendung von Bildern: Text und Fotos auf dieser Webseite sind urheberrechtlich geschützt. Weitere Verwendung und Kopieren ohne vorherige Genehmigung ist untersagt. Wenn Sie Fotos für private oder gewerbliche Zwecke nutzen wollen, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte.

Get our newsletter!
Check out the volcano tours offered by Volcano-Adventures!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours:
3-18 Jun: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11 Jun: Nyiragongo Lava Lake & Mountain Gorillas - DR Congo + Rwanda
8-23 Jul: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
10-14 Jul: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
10-24 Jul: Volcanoes in the South Sea - Vanuatu (South Sea)
14-23 Jul: The Volcanoes of Ambrym - the Grand Traverse - Vanuatu (South Sea)
23 Jul - 8 Aug: Volcanoes of Java - Java (Indonesia)
24-28 Jul: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
24 Jul - 7 Aug: Volcanoes in the South Sea - Vanuatu (South Sea)
28 Jul - 6 Aug: The Volcanoes of Ambrym - the Grand Traverse - Vanuatu (South Sea)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Random pictures
News

no news in this list.

 

Oshima volcano

stratovolcano 764 m / 2,507 ft
Izu Islands, Japan, 34.72°N / 139.4°E
Current status: dormant (1 out of 5)
Oshima volcano books
Typical eruption style: strombolian, effusive
Oshima volcano eruptions: 1990, 1987-88, 1986, 1974, 1971, 1970, 1970, 1969, 1968, 1968, 1967, 1965-66, 1962-65, 1961(?), 1959-60, 1959, 1958, 1957, 1956, 1956(?), 1953-54, 1950-51, 1940, 1939, 1939, 1938, 1937, 1935, 1934, 1934(?), 1933, 1928, 1922-23, 1920(?), 1919, 1915, 1914, 1912-13, 1910, 1876-77, 1870, 1868?, 1846, 1837-38, 1827, 1822-24, 1803, 1792, 1789, 1783-86, 1777-79, 1695, 1684-90, 1636-38, 1612-13, 1600-01, 1588, 1552, 1527, 1442, 1421, 1416, 1415, 1338, 1267, 1112, 936, 886, 854(?), 751, 684(?), 681(?), 680(?), 654, 630, 605
TimeMag. / DepthDistanceLocation
Mon, 22 May
Mon, 22 May 04:04 UTCM 2.6 / 11.6 km12 kmNEAR NIIJIMA ISLAND
Mon, 22 May 03:25 UTCM 3.8 / 11.3 km12 kmNEAR NIIJIMA ISLAND
Mon, 22 May 02:44 UTCM 2.5 / 11.5 km12 kmNEAR NIIJIMA ISLAND
Mon, 22 May 02:40 UTCM 3.1 / 13.4 km12 kmNEAR NIIJIMA ISLAND
Mon, 22 May 02:39 UTCM 2.7 / 12.8 km12 kmNEAR NIIJIMA ISLAND
View all recent quakes
Oshima volcano (伊豆大島 Izu-ōshima) is the northernmost of the Izu islands of Japan, and one of the world's most active volcanoes. It is a mostly submerged stratovolcano that forms an 11 x 13 km island.
Oshima erupts very frequently, on average every 1-3 years, but has been quiet since 1990, which is an unusual long interval compared to its activity in historic times.
Eruptions at Oshima volcano occur from both summit and flank vents and its lavas are relatively fluid. The eruptions often produce lava fountains, strombolian activity, lava flows and the formation of lava lakes.

Background:

from Smithsonian / GVP volcano information:
Oshima volcano in Sagami Bay, east of the Izu Peninsula, is the northernmost of the Izu Islands. The broad, low stratovolcano forms an 11 x 13 km island and was constructed over the remnants of three dissected stratovolcanoes. It is capped by a 4-km-wide caldera with a central cone, Mihara-yama, that has been the site of numerous historical eruptions. More than 40 parasitic cones are located within the caldera and along two parallel rift zones trending NNW-SSE. Although Oshima is a dominantly basaltic volcano, strong explosive activity has occurred at intervals of 100-150 years throughout the past few thousand years. Historical activity at Oshima dates back to the 7th century AD.

Oshima Photos:



1968 eruption & lava fountains
A major eruption from Izu-Oshima volcano in 1986 produced spectacular lava fountains up to 1600 m height and a 16-km-high subplinian eruption column. More than 12,000 persons were evacuated from the island.
Tall lava fountains:
The 1968 Oshima lava fountain is the second highest ever (photographically) recorded lava fountain from a volcano. The highest is the 1500-2000 m tall lava fountain from the Voragine on Etna volcano on 4 September 1999, the third the 1000-1200 m tall lava fountain from Etna's SE crater during the paroxysm on 23 May 2000.
For comparison, the tallest lava fountains observed on Hawaii were about 590 m tall from Kilauea Iki on 21 November 1959. The specacular lava fountains from Pu'u O'o during 1983-85 reached up to 500 m.

Latest satellite images

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.