Panay volcano

stratovolcano 501 m / 1,644 ft
Luzon Island, Philippines, 13.72°N / 120.89°E
Current status: (probably) extinct (0 out of 5)

Mount Panay is small andesitic stratovolcano on the Calumpang Peninsula west of the Batangas Bay, south of Lake Taal, Luzon Island, Philippines.
Panay may be extinct with its last eruptions being more than 10,000 years ago, but it still has strong solfataric activity.

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: explosive
Panay volcano eruptions: more than 10,000 years ago

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Saturday, December 4, 2021 21:23 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 5, 2021 5:23 am (GMT +8) (Dec 4, 2021 21:23 GMT)
1.9

32 km
70 km (43 mi)
35 km northwest of Mamburao, Occidental Mindoro, Mimaropa, Philippines
Dec 4, 2021 11:17 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 4, 2021 15:17 GMT)
1.9

103 km
45 km (28 mi)
South China Sea, 16 km southwest of Nasugbu, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines
Saturday, November 27, 2021 19:02 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 28, 2021 3:02 am (GMT +8) (Nov 27, 2021 19:02 GMT)
1.9

45 km
43 km (27 mi)
South China Sea, 49 km southwest of Balayan, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines
Friday, November 26, 2021 21:10 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 27, 2021 5:10 am (GMT +8) (Nov 26, 2021 21:10 GMT)
1.9

92 km
36 km (22 mi)
South China Sea, 13 km southwest of Calatagan, Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines
Sunday, November 21, 2021 23:51 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 22, 2021 7:51 am (GMT +8) (Nov 21, 2021 23:51 GMT)
2.3

6 km
60 km (37 mi)
South China Sea, 10.7 km southeast of Looc, Philippines

Background

Batangas Bay lies at the intersection of 2 major regional trends, the Bataan Lineament and the Palawan-Macolod Lineament, and may represent a submarine caldera. (USGS/GVP)


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8 | NASA FIRMS
Show more
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel