Platanar volcano

Stratovolcanoes 2267 m / 7,438 ft
Costa Rica, 10.3°N / -84.37°W
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: unspecified
Platanar volcano eruptions: unknown, no recent eruptions

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Sunday, October 17, 2021 03:22 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 16, 2021 9:22 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 17, 2021 03:22 GMT)
3.5

77 km
29 km (18 mi)
Costa Rica: 1 Km Al Sur De San Pedro, Poas.
Saturday, October 16, 2021 14:53 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 16, 2021 8:53 am (GMT -6) (Oct 16, 2021 14:53 GMT)
3.5

5 km
43 km (27 mi)
3 Km Al Oeste De Picagres, Mora, Costa Rica
Thursday, October 14, 2021 10:45 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 14, 2021 4:45 am (GMT -6) (Oct 14, 2021 10:45 GMT)
3.8

5 km
13 km (8.1 mi)
COSTA RICA
Monday, October 4, 2021 06:31 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 4, 2021 12:31 am (GMT -6) (Oct 4, 2021 06:31 GMT)
3.7

12 km
43 km (27 mi)
36 km northwest of Ciudad Quesada, San Carlos, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
Sunday, October 3, 2021 12:28 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 3, 2021 6:28 am (GMT -6) (Oct 3, 2021 12:28 GMT)
3.5

9 km
43 km (27 mi)
36 km northwest of Ciudad Quesada, San Carlos, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica

Background

The Platanar volcanic center is the NW-most volcano in the Cordillera Central of Costa Rica. The massive complex covers about 900 sq km and is dominated by two largely Pleistocene stratovolcanoes, Platanar and Porvenir. These volcanoes were constructed within the Pleistocene Chocosuela caldera, which may have formed during a major slope failure. The 2183-m-high Cerro Platanar volcano (known locally as Volcán Congo) on the north side of the complex has prehistorical lava flows on its western flanks and is the youngest volcanic center. The highest peak of the complex is 2267-m-high Porvenir volcano, whose summit crater lies 3 km south of Platanar. A thin layer of phreatic ash suggested that an eruption from Platanar occurred within the past few thousand years (Stine and Banks, 1991). The Aguas Zarcas group of nine basaltic cinder cones, located on the north flank of the Platanar-Porvenir complex to as low as 160 m altitude, is in part Holocene in age.
---
Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Show more
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.