San Pedro volcano

stratovolcano 6145 m / 20,161 ft
Chile / Argentinien (Norden) + Bolivien, Südamerika, -21.88°S / -68.4°W
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)

San Pedro volcano in the Atacama desert of northern Chile is one of the highest active volcanoes in the world.
San Pedro volcano is a twin volcano with 2 peaks, San Pedro (the western summit) and the older sister volcano San Pablo (6092 m) in the east.

A large debris avalanche, similar to the one at Mt St Helend in 1980, occurred at San Pedro in the past, and the present-day cone grew within the depression. The debris avalanche deposit is visible on the western lower slopes of San Pedro.
Thick dacitic lava flows with steep-sided fronts cover the upper slopes of San Pedro's cone which has a crater. There is a young-looking scoria cone on the western flank (La Poruña), which erupted an 8 km-long lava flow about 103,000 years ago.
Reports of varying degrees of reliability have recorded a number of eruptions in the past centuries.

Note: a volcano with the same name is at Lake Atitlán in the Guatemalan Highlands, forming the prominent group of San Pedro, Tolimán, and Atitlán volcanoes.

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: explosive and effusive
San Pedro volcano eruptions: 1960(?), 1938, 1923(?), 1917(?), 1916(?), 1911, 1901, 1891(?), 1877(?), 1870(?)

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Sunday, October 24, 2021 22:39 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 24, 2021 7:39 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 24, 2021 22:39 GMT)
3.3

130 km
17 km (10.6 mi)
67 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
Oct 23, 2021 11:05 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 24, 2021 02:05 GMT)
3.4

138 km
37 km (23 mi)
109 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
Saturday, October 23, 2021 19:43 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 23, 2021 4:43 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 23, 2021 19:43 GMT)
4.1

123 km
35 km (22 mi)
El Loa, 51 km northeast of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
Thursday, October 21, 2021 14:17 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 21, 2021 11:17 am (GMT -3) (Oct 21, 2021 14:17 GMT)
3.4

120 km
48 km (30 mi)
96 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
Wednesday, October 20, 2021 00:22 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 19, 2021 9:22 pm (GMT -3) (Oct 20, 2021 00:22 GMT)
3.5

125 km
26 km (16 mi)
ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE

San Pedro Photos

Atitlán, Toliman, and San Pedro volcanoes (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
Atitlán, Toliman, and San Pedro volcanoes (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
Early morning at the shore of Lake Atitlán with Atitlán, Toliman and San Pedro volcanoes in the background (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
Early morning at the shore of Lake Atitlán with Atitlán, Toliman and San Pedro volcanoes in the background (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
Sunrise above the Lake Atitlán with Atitlán, Toliman and San Pedro volcanoes behind (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
Sunrise above the Lake Atitlán with Atitlán, Toliman and San Pedro volcanoes behind (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
The caldera of Laka Atitlán, Guatemala, in the morning. San Pedro, Atitlán and Toliman volcanoes in the background.  (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
The caldera of Laka Atitlán, Guatemala, in the morning. San Pedro, Atitlán and Toliman volcanoes in the background. (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
 



See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Show more
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.