Get our newsletter!
Voyages aux volcans actifs !
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Départs garantis:
4-8 mai 2020: Spécial Volcan Krakatau - Le Krakatau, détroit de la Sonde
9-17 mai 2020: Montagnes de Feu - du Stromboli à l'Etna - Eoliennes + Etna
11-29 août 2020: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
: Places libres / : Départ garanti / : Quelques places disponibles / : Groupe fermé
Diaporama
Wednesday, Mar 07, 2012
Après qu'aucun nouveau signe d'agitation n'avait été détecté au volcan Kanaga pendant la semaine passée, AVO a baissé le niveau alerte en arrière à la normal (vert). [details]
Tuesday, Feb 28, 2012
Aucune activité inhabituelle a été observée dans les données sismiques ou surtout des images de satellite nuageux de Kanaga volcan au cours des 24 heures. ... [details]
 

Kanaga volcan

stratovolcan 1307 m / 4,288 ft
Andreanof Islands, Aleutian Islands, Alaska , 51.92°N / -177.17°W
Condition actuelle: normal / en sommeil (1 sur 5) | Reports
Kanaga livres
Last update: 11 Sep 2012 (Alert lowered to normal)
Style éruptif tipique: explosive
Eruptions du volcan Kanaga: 2012 (?), 1993-95, 1942, 1933, 1906, 1904, 1829?, 1791?, 1790?, 1783-87?, 1768, 1763 Kanaga Volcano Viewed from the west with Mt Moffet, Adak and Great Sitkin in the background (image taken May 8, 2010 by Cyrus Read, AVO/USGS)No recent earthquakes
HeureMag. / DepthDistanceLocation
Kanaga volcan est un stratovolcan symétrique s'élevant à 1300 m dans la partie nord de l'Île Kanaga dans les îles Aléoutiennes occidentales, de l'Alaska. Il est un des volcans plus au sud de la chaîne aléoutienne centrale.
Le volcan a un petit 200 m de large et 60 m sommet circulaire profond cratère avec des fumerolles dans le cratère et autour de ses jantes. Des éruptions historiques ont été enregistrées depuis 1763, mais pas beaucoup de détails en raison de l'éloignement du volcan. Une nouvelle éruption pourrait ont commencé le 18 février 2012.

Introduction:

Symétrique Kanaga stratovolcan est situé dans la caldeira Kanaton à la pointe nord de l'île Kanaga. Il est composé de interstratifiées coulées de laves basaltiques et andésitiques, des couches de scories, et des roches pyroclastiques.
La jante de la caldeira Kanaton forme un 760-m de haut en forme d'arc crête sud et l'est du Kanaga, un lac occupe une partie du rez-caldeira SE. Le volume de tuf dacitique subaérienne est plus petit que devraient normalement être associé à effondrement de la caldeira, et les dépôts d'une avalanche de débris sous-marins massive associée à l'effondrement édifice s'étendent presque 30 km au NNO. Plusieurs coulées de lave fraîches de temps préhistoriques historique ou la fin de descendre les flancs de Kanaga, dans certains cas, à la mer.
Kanaga est également à noter pour les inclusions ultramafiques petrologically dans un affleurement de basalte alcalin SW du volcan. Activité fumerollienne se produit dans une circulaire, de 200 m de large, cratère sommital de 60 m de profondeur et produit de la vapeur panaches voit parfois sur jours francs à compter Adak, à 50 km à l'est.
(Informations volcan Smithsonian / GVP)

1994-95 eruption
Jusqu'en 2012, la dernière éruption de Kanaga en 1994-1995 lorsqu'on les observe panaches éruptifs étaient relativement diluées, augmentait à une altitude de moins de 3 km (9 840 pieds), cendres de chute sur les flancs du volcan. Plus grandes émissions de cendres atteignant jusqu'à 7,5 km a eu lieu le 21 février 1995. ...plus

1906 eruption
Kanaga a été vu en éruption 1906, un chasseur signalé. L'éruption a été accompagnée par des séismes et des coulées de lave ont été signalés sur le côté est et ouest du cône du volcan raide de.

1904 eruption
Pas beaucoup est connu au sujet de l'éruption du volcan Kanaga en 1904. Des documents historiques suggèrent une coulée de lave sur le flanc supérieur du sud.

Derniers images satellite


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
 

Plus sur VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyright: VolcanoDiscovery ou autres sources indiquées.
Utilisation des documents: Les textes, les images et les vidéos de ce site internet sont protégées par copyright. Toute reproduction et tout usage sans accord préalable ne sont pas autorisés. Si vous désirez acquérir pour certains documents (photos, vidéos, textes ou autres) le droit de reproduction, d'édition et, plus généralement, de toute utilisation destinée à un usage public, qu'elle soit commerciale ou pas, vous êtes priés de nous contacter.

Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 May 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Wed, 7 Mar 2012, 07:22
After no further signs of restlessness had been detected at Kanaga during the past week, AVO lowered the alert level back to normal (green). ... read all
Tue, 28 Feb 2012, 11:05
No unusual activity was observed in seismic data or mostly cloudy satellite images of Kanaga volcano in the past 24 hours. read all
 

Kanaga volcano

stratovolcano 1307 m / 4,288 ft
Andreanof Islands, Aleutian Islands, Alaska , 51.92°N / -177.17°W
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5) | Reports
Kanaga volcano books
Last update: 11 Sep 2012 (Alert lowered to normal)
Typical eruption style: explosive
Kanaga volcano eruptions: 2012 (?), 1993-95, 1942, 1933, 1906, 1904, 1829 (?), 1791 (?), 1790 (?), 1783-87 (?), 1768, 1763 Kanaga Volcano Viewed from the west with Mt Moffet, Adak and Great Sitkin in the background (image taken May 8, 2010 by Cyrus Read, AVO/USGS)
TimeMag. / DepthDistanceLocation
Thu, 15 Oct 2020 (UTC)
Thu, 15 Oct 22:48 UTCM 0.8 / 15.1 km19 km32 Km WSW of Adak, Alaska, USA
Fri, 9 Oct 2020 (UTC)
9 Oct 12:01 pm (GMT -9) (9 Oct 21:01:41 UTC)M 1.2 / 4.3 km3 km37 Km WNW of Adak, Alaska, USA
Fri, 25 Sep 2020 (UTC)
Fri, 25 Sep 01:22 UTCM 0.3 / 9.7 km23 kmAndreanof Islands, Aleutian Islands, Alaska, USA
Sat, 5 Sep 2020 (UTC)
Sat, 5 Sep 05:48 UTCM 1.5 / 13.7 km16 km35 Km WNW of Adak, Alaska (USA)
Thu, 20 Aug 2020 (UTC)
Thu, 20 Aug 07:15 UTCM 0.4 / 14.9 km24 km39 km WSW of Adak, Alaska (USA)
View all recent quakes
Kanaga volcano is an active symmetrical stratovolcano rising 1300 m on the northern part of Kanaga Island in the western Aleutians, Alaska. It is one of the most southerly volcanoes of the central Aleutian chain.
The volcano has a small 200 m wide and 60 m deep circular summit crater with fumaroles inside the crater and around its rims. Historical eruptions have been recorded since 1763, but not in much detail due to the remoteness of the volcano. A new eruption might have started on 18 February 2012.

Background:

Symmetrical Kanaga stratovolcano is situated within the Kanaton caldera at the northern tip of Kanaga Island. It is composed of interbedded basaltic and andesitic lava flows, scoria layers, and pyroclastic rocks.
The rim of Kanaton caldera forms a 760-m-high arcuate ridge south and east of Kanaga; a lake occupies part of the SE caldera floor. The volume of subaerial dacitic tuff is smaller than would typically be associated with caldera collapse, and deposits of a massive submarine debris avalanche associated with edifice collapse extend nearly 30 km to the NNW. Several fresh lava flows from historical or late prehistorical time descend the flanks of Kanaga, in some cases to the sea.
Kanaga is also noted petrologically for ultramafic inclusions within an outcrop of alkaline basalt SW of the volcano. Fumarolic activity occurs in a circular, 200-m-wide, 60-m-deep summit crater and produces vapor plumes sometimes seen on clear days from Adak, 50 km to the east.
(Smithsonian / GVP volcano information)

1994-95 eruption
Prior to 2012, the last eruption of Kanaga was in 1994-1995 when observed eruptive plumes were relatively dilute, rising to altitudes of less than 3 km (9,840 ft) and dropping ash onto the flanks of the volcano. Larger ash emissions reaching up to 7.5 km occurred on 21 February 1995. ...more

1906 eruption
Kanaga was seen in eruption 1906 a hunter reported. The eruption was accompanied by earthquakes and lava flows were reported on the east and west side of the steep volcano's cone.

1904 eruption
Not much is known about the eruption of Kanaga volcano in 1904. Historic documents suggest a lava flow on the upper southern flank.

Latest satellite images


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
 

More on VolcanoDiscovery

 
Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.