Reporoa volcano

Caldera 592 m / 1,942 ft
New Zealand, -38.42°S / 176.33°E
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: unspecified
Reporoa volcano eruptions: 1180 (?) 

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Friday, October 15, 2021 00:34 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 15, 2021 1:34 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 00:34 GMT)
3.1

137 km
34 km (21 mi)
South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand
Thursday, October 14, 2021 19:29 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 15, 2021 8:29 am (GMT +13) (Oct 14, 2021 19:29 GMT)
3.8

182 km
45 km (28 mi)
South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 05:29 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 12, 2021 6:29 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 12, 2021 05:29 GMT)
3.0

128 km
21 km (13 mi)
Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Saturday, October 9, 2021 18:53 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 10, 2021 7:53 am (GMT +13) (Oct 9, 2021 18:53 GMT)
3.2

166 km
44 km (27 mi)
South Waikato District, 23 km west of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Oct 10, 2021 12:21 am (GMT +13) (Oct 9, 2021 11:21 GMT)
2.9

139 km
33 km (21 mi)
13 km west of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

Background

The 10 x 15 km wide Reporoa caldera, occupying the Reporoa-Broadlands basin, lies near the western margin of the Taupo volcanic zone SSW of the Okataina volcanic center. Reporoa caldera formed about 230,000 years ago during the eruption of the voluminous ca. 100 cu km Kaingaroa Ignimbrite. Large slump scallops cut the northern caldera rim; on the south the rim is buried by sediments. The Deer Hill rhyolitic lava dome was erupted after caldera collapse on the southern rim; two other rhyolitic domes, Kairuru and Pukekahu, were emplaced within the caldera along a possible ring fault. The active Reporoa hydrothermal field lies within the caldera, and the Waiotapu and Broadlands (Ohaki) hydrothermal fields lie occur north and south of the poorly defined caldera margin. Eruptions within the caldera have not occurred since the late Pleistocene, but large hydrothermal explosions took place from the Waiotapu thermal area immediately to the north at the time of the Kaharoa eruption of neighboring Tarawera volcano about 770 years ago.
---
Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Show more
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.