Salton Buttes volcano

lava domes -40 m / -131 feet
Kalifornien, Canada and USA (mainland), 33.2°N / -115.62°W
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)
Last update: 26 Jun 2013

The Salton Buttes volcanic field consist of 5 small rhyolitic lava domes built above sediments of the Colorado River delta within the Salton Sea geothermal field, located at the SE margin of the Salton Sea, California.

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: Explosive
Salton Buttes volcano eruptions: about 3000 years ago

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Monday, October 25, 2021 00:14 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 24, 2021 5:14 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 25, 2021 00:14 GMT)
2.5

9.3 km
41 km (25 mi)
12km SW of Salton City, CA
Sunday, October 24, 2021 06:49 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 23, 2021 11:49 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 24, 2021 06:49 GMT)
3.6

11 km
35 km (22 mi)
22 mi northwest of El Centro, Imperial County, California, USA
Saturday, October 23, 2021 16:12 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 23, 2021 9:12 am (GMT -7) (Oct 23, 2021 16:12 GMT)
2.5

7.2 km
31 km (19 mi)
15km S of Salton City, CA
Oct 23, 2021 6:22 am (GMT -7) (Oct 23, 2021 13:22 GMT)
2.4

10.8 km
34 km (21 mi)
8km S of Brawley, CA
Monday, October 18, 2021 03:58 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 17, 2021 8:58 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 18, 2021 03:58 GMT)
2.3

8.7 km
45 km (28 mi)
13km W of Salton City, CA

Background

Recent dating of young zircons (which typically crystallize prior to eruption) place the date of the lava domes at 10,300 +/- 1000 years ago, consistent with early Holocene hydration rind dates from Obsidian Butte. Wave-cut benches originating from Lake Cahuilla, which existed from about 20,500 to 3000 years ago, prior to the 20th century formation of the Salton Sea due to an accidental spill-over of the Colorado River, are found on all of the domes. Older, sediment-buried Pleistocene rhyolitic lava domes have been found in geothermal drill holes. The Salton Sea geothermal field produces saline geothermal brines.
---
Source: GVP Salton Buttes information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Show more
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.