Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Sandal volcano

Updated: Mar 4, 2024 04:17 GMT -
cinder cone 855 m
Turkey, 38.58°N / 28.55°E
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)

The Sandal volcano belongs to the Kula volcanic area.

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: explosive
Sandal volcano eruptions: none in historic times

Latest nearby earthquakes

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Feb 28, 12:36 pm (Istanbul)
Feb 28, 09:36 GMT
1.4

5 km
6.7 km (4.2 mi) to the S 7.4 km southwest of Kula, Manisa, Turkey Info
Monday, February 26, 2024 GMT (2 quakes)
Feb 27, 01:42 am (Istanbul)
Feb 26, 22:42 GMT
1.4

4.7 km
21 km (13 mi) to the S 4.6 km north of Philadelphia, Manisa, Turkey Info
Feb 27, 01:37 am (Istanbul)
Feb 26, 22:37 GMT
1.1

9.3 km
17 km (10.8 mi) to the S 8.9 km north of Philadelphia, Manisa, Turkey Info
Wednesday, February 21, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 21, 12:34 pm (Istanbul)
Feb 21, 09:34 GMT
1.1

6.3 km
8.4 km (5.2 mi) to the SW 29 km east of Salihli, Manisa, Turkey Info

Background

It is part of the most western part of Turkey´s volcanism. There have been alkaline-basanitic-to-phonotephritic eruptions of Strombolian style in the Holocene until +- 10-000-35.000 years before.


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8 | NASA FIRMS

No news in this list.